Connect with us


Unattached Walusimbi Named in Uganda’s Provisional Squad for AFCON

Uganda senior national football team, Cranes, is set to kick off preparations for the 2019 Africa Cup of Nations and Cosafa tournament.

Uganda senior national football team, Cranes, is set to kick off preparations for the 2019 Africa Cup of Nations and Cosafa tournament.

Coach Sebastien Desabre has selected 39 local-based players, 20 of whom will hold their first training non-residential training that starts on Wednesday 15th May 2019 at StarTimes Stadium, Lugogo in preparations for the Cosafa tournament.

The other 19 players will start camp at Kabira Country Club for residential training starting Monday 13th May 2019 in preparations for the Africa Cup of Nations.

According to a statement from the federation, it’s from the Kabira camp that Migne will select some players for the 26 man squad for further training in the United Arab Emirates.

The selected players will join the foreign-based players from which a 23 man squad to feature in the Total AFCON Finals in Egypt will be named.

Desabre AFCON preliminary squad includes former Gor Mahia defender Godfrey Walusimbi who is unattached after leaving South Africa Premier League giants Kaizer Chiefs.

Other notable names include Daniel Sserunkuma, Hassan Waswa and teenage sensational forward Allan Okello.

Surprisingly missing is  Hassan Kalega, a holding midfielder who has been in top form for Police FC in the 2018/2019 Uganda Premier League.

Dan Bilikwaliara, Rashid Agau, and Cromwel Rwotomiyo were all snubbed as well despite their recent impressive performances for their respective clubs.

AFCON Preliminary Squad:

Goalkeepers: Charles Lukwago (KCCA FC), James Alitho (URA FC),

Defenders: Bevis Mugabi (Yeovil Town FC– England), Brian Majwega (Maroons FC), Godfrey Walusimbi (Unattached), Awany Timothy (KCCA FC),  Halid Lwaliwa (Vipers SC), Mujuzi Mustafa (Proline FC)

Midfielders:  Khalid Aucho (Churchill Brothers- India), Hassan Wasswa Mawanda (unattached), Ibrahim Sadam Juma (KCCA FC), Tadeo Lwanga (Vipers SC), Allan Okello (KCCA FC), Moses Waiswa (Vipers SC).

Forwards: Daniel Isiagi (Al Nassr FC- Egypt), Allan Kyambadde (KCCA FC), Balinya Juma (Police FC), Henry Patrick Kaddu (KCCA FC), Joel Madondo KJSSS FC)


Goalkeeper: Said Keni (SC Villa).

Defenders:  Isaac Isinde (Kirinya-Jinja SSS FC), Paul Willa (Police), Mustafa Kizza (KCCA FC), John Revita (Express FC), Paul Baker Mbowa (URA FC), Hassan Musana (KCCA FC), Filibert Obenchan (KCCA FC).

Midfielders: Ivan Eyam (Mbarara City FC), David Owori (SC Villa), Bright Anukani (Proline FC), Muzamiru Mutyaba (KCCA FC), Shafi Kuchi Kagimu (URA FC), Kasozi Nicolas (KCCA FC), Kayiwa Allan (Tooro United FC).

Forwards: Daniel ‘Muzeyi’ Serunkuma Daniel (Vipers SC), Bashir Mutanda (SC Villa), Paul Mucuurezi (Mbarara City FC), Nelson Senkatuka (Brights Stars FC), Michael Birungi Komunda (Express FC).

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

More in Football

Translate »