Connect with us


Uganda Cranes Coach Names Final 23-Man Squad for the Comoros Match

Uganda National Football team Coach Micho Sredojevic has named his final 23-man squad for the AFCON qualifier against Comoros scheduled for Sept. 4th, at the Nelson Mandela National Stadium. The match is a crucial fixture for the Uganda Cranes who need a win to seal a place in the upcoming Africa Cup of Nations. Uganda is tied in first place with Burkina Faso who play third-placed Botswana in Ouagadougou.
Sredojevic has named former Southampton defender Benis Mugabe in his 23-man squad. Mugabe is expected to compete for Dennis Guma’s spot while he is currently serving a suspension over accumulated yellow cards.
The Uganda Cranes will look to Captain Geofrey Massa who plays for the Baroka in South Africa and Farouk Miya, a sensational striker who plays for Belgium’s Standard Liege.
Tensions are high for the Ugandan side which last qualified for the finals in 1978, where they finished as runners-up. Uganda has a good home record which will be an advantage going into the game, having lost only once at home in close to eight years.
Below is the final list of players who made it to the national team’s 23-man squad:
Dennis Onyango (Mamelodi Sundowns, South Africa), Salim Jamal Magoola (El Merriekh, Sudan), Benjamin Ochan (KCCA, Uganda), Ismail Watenga (Vipers, Uganda)

Nicholas Wadada (Vipers, Uganda), Joseph Nsubuga (SC Villa, Uganda), Bevis Mugabi (Yoevil Town, UK), Hassan Wasswa Mawanda , Murushid Jjuuko (Simba, Tanzania), Isaac Isinde (St George, Ethiopia), Timothy Denis Awanyi (KCCA, Uganda), Rashid ‘Mertasacker’ Toha (Onduparaka, Uganda), Halid Lwaliwa (Vipers, Uganda), Joseph Benson Ochaya (KCCA, Uganda), Godfrey ‘Jajja Walu’ Walusimbi (Gor Mahia, Kenya)

Khalid Aucho (Baroka, South Africa), Tonny Mawejje (Knattspyrnufélagið Þróttur, Iceland), Geofrey ‘Baba’ Kizito (Than Quảng Ninh, Vietnam), Moses Oloya (Kuban Kransndor, Russia), Kezironi Kizito (Vipers, Uganda), Ivan Ntege (KCCA, Uganda), William Luwagga Kizito (Feirense, Portgual), Vincent Kayizzi Walugembe (KCCA, Uganda), Abdulmalick Vitalis Tabu (Sports Club Villa Jogoo, Uganda)

Geofrey Massa (Baroka, South Africa), Farouk Miya (Standard Liege, Belgium), Yunus Sentamu (F.C Ilves, Finnland), Emmanuel Arnold Okwi, Geofrey Sserunkuma (KCCA, Uganda), Edrisa Lubega (Proline, Uganda), Muhammed Shaban (Onduparaka, Uganda), Erisa Ssekisambu (Vipers, Uganda)


Featured Photo: Uganda Cranes Captain celebrating one of His Goals in the Qualifiers. (Source: New Vision)

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

More in Football

Translate »