Connect with us


Hakizimana wins Rwanda Premier League Player of the Year Award

APR FC’s darling and marquee forward Muhadjiri Hakizimana is the 2018 Rwanda Premier League Player of the year.

APR FC’s darling and marquee forward Muhadjiri Hakizimana is the 2018 Rwanda Premier League Player of the year.

Hakizimana beat a strong opposition from former APR teammate Djihad Bizimana and AS Kigali striker Jean-Claude Ndarusanze to win the award in a ceremony held at Kigali Marriot Hotel.

For his reward, Hakizimana walked away with the Rwanda Franc 1 million ($ 1,120) cash prize.

“I am thankful to all my teammates, fans and APR staff, if it was not for them, I would not be able to win the prestigious award. This is also proof that if I keep working hard, there is no limit to possibilities,” he said.

AS Kigali’s Burundian import Jean Claude Ndarusanze emerged top scorer with 15 goals that helped the City of Kigali-sponsored side to finish second with 61 points, five behind APR.

APR FC keeper Kimenyi Yves was rewarded for his stellar display last season after he bagged the Golden Gloves Award. Yves beat Omar Rwabugiri of Mukura VS and Batte Shamiru of AS Kigali to the trophy.

Rayon Sports midfielder Kevin Muhire edged APR duo of Prince Buregeya and Lague Byiringiro for the Young Player of the Year award.

“It is a great honor to win the award, it is a result of teamwork and tireless work of coaches at Rayon Sports. I also congratulate Prince (Buregeya) and Lague (Byiringiro), they equally deserved this award for a fantastic season they have had,” said 20-year old Muhire.

Haringingo Christian Francis was also rewarded for his efforts at Mukura VS after he scooped revolution Coach of the Year award. Francis was voted the best ahead of Reremesha Emmanuel of Musanze FC and Zambian Mphande Joel Albert of Police FC.

The best coach of the year title was won by Coach Ruremesha Emmanuel, former Etincelles FC coach who joined Musanze FC last month.

He beat APR FC Serbian coach Ljubomir Ljupko Petrovic and Burundian Mukura VS Coach Haringingo Christian Francis.

2018 Azam Rwanda Premier League Award winners:
Best player

1. Hakizimana Muhadjir (APR FC)-110 pts
2. Bizimana Djihad (Ex. APR FC)-48 pts
3. Ndarusanze Jean Claude (AS Kigali)-37 pts

Best Goalkeeper
1. Kimenyi Yves (APR FC)-156 pts
2. Rwabugiri Omar (Mukura VS)-52 pts
3. Bate Shamiru (AS Kigali)-37 pts

Promising Player
1. Muhire Kevin (Rayon Sports FC)-72 pts
2. Buregeya Prince (APR FC)-65 pts
3. Byiringiro Lague (APR FC)-52 pts

Best Coach
1. Ruremesha Emmanuel (Musanze FC, Ex. Etincelles FC)-103 pts
2. Ljubomir Ljupko Petrovic (APR FC) – 78 pts
3. Haringingo Christian Francis (Mukura VS)-32 pts

Revelation Coach
1. Haringingo Christian Francis (Mukura VS)- 61 pts
2. Ruremesha Emmanuel (Musanze FC, Ex. Etincelles FC)-48 pts
3. Mphande Joel Albert (Police FC)-33 pts

Top Scorer
Ndarusanze Jean Claude (AS Kigali)-15 Goals
Photo: Canisius Kagabo

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

More in Football

Translate »