Connect with us


FIFA World Cup Qualifiers: Togo Coach Names First Squad As Major Casualties Emerge

New Togo national team head coach Paulo Duarte has unveiled his squad for the forthcoming 2022 FIFA World Cup qualifiers against Senegal and Namibia respectively.

The Portuguese gaffer, who was named the new Hawks manager in May, has left Finally Henrytse and Doke Joshua out of his first squad since assuming duty.

Other regulars such as goalkeeper Adry Kossi Agbéko of Dyto, Djehani Nguessan of ASC Hayableh as well as Steve Lawson of Livingstone FC have also been snubbed.

TP Mazembe youngster Marouf Tchakei has been named in the squad that also included new kid on the team Frédéric Ananou who turns for Paderborn in Germany.

All eyes will be on striker Kodjo Laba who returns to the squad after missing Togo’s recent matches against Benin, Comoros and Kenya.

France-based trio of Loïc Bessile (Bordeaux, France), Marvin Senaya (Strasbourg, France) and Lorenz Assignon (Rennes, France) alongside Walid Yacoubou of Hartford in USA have been invited, though placed on waiting list.

Togo will be away to Senegal on September 1 before hosting Namibia four days later.

Also in the group is Congo Brazzaville who will face Namibia in the opening Group H match in Johannesburg before travelling to face Togo.

The top team from Group H will join nine other winners for the second round of the qualifiers who will be drawn into five home-and-away ties. The winners of each tie will advance to the 2022 FIFA World Cup in Qatar.

The 2022 FIFA World Cup will be the 22nd edition of the FIFA World Cup and it is scheduled to take place in Qatar from 21 November to 18 December 2022.

Here is Togo provisional squad:

Full squad

Goalkeepers: Moubarak Aigba (Sofapaka, Kenya), Malcolm Barcola (Lyon, France), Wassiou Ouro-Gneni (ASCK)

Defenders: Adoul-Halimou Sama (ASKO), Dakonam Djene (Getafe, Spain), Kangnivi Amatchoutchoui (FC Nouadhibou, Mauritania), Gustave Akueson (FC Versailles, France), Adewale Olufade (Manama Club, Bahrain), Klousseh Agbozo (Olympique Béja, Tunisia), Moussa Bilal (AS Togo Port), Youssifou Atte (WAFA, Ghana), Frédéric Ananou (Paderborn, Germany)

Midfielders: Bilali Akoro (AS OTR), Kossivi Amededjisso, Floyd Ayité (Valenciennes, France), Henritsè Eninful (FC Lahti, Finland), Ougadja Mani (ASCK), Marouf Tchakei (ASKO).

Forwards : Ihlas Bebou (Hoffenheim, Germany), David Henen (Grenoble, France), Gilles Sunu (Châteauroux, France), Kevin Denkey (Cercle Bruges, Belgium), Kodjo Laba (Al-Aïn, United Arab Emirates), Serge Nyuiadzi (Suduva, Lithuania), Fessou Placca (Al-Tadamon, Kuwait), Richard Nane (Hafia, Guinea).

Waiting List: Paroussie Atissou (ASCK), Vigninou Agbagla (ASKO),Loïc Bessile (Bordeaux, France), Walid Yacoubou (Hartford, USA), Marvin Senaya (Strasbourg, France), Lorenz Assignon (Rennes, France), Yendoutie Balgou (ASCK),Jean-Eudes Aholou (Strasbourg, France), Roger Aholou (US Monastir, Tunisia), Lalawele Atakora (Syrianska, Sweden), Elom Nya-Vedji, Ismail Ouro-Agoro (ASCK), Peniel Mlapa (Al Ittihad Kalba, United Arab Emirates), Thibault Klidje (Bordeaux, France)

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

More in Football

Translate »