Connect with us


Cycling: Rwanda’s Joseph Areruya named Africa’s Best

Rwanda’s Joseph Areruya has been named Africa’s Cyclist of the Year for 2018.

Rwanda’s Joseph Areruya has been named Africa’s Cyclist of the Year for 2018.

The organizers of the trophy, Tropicale Amissa Bongo, announced the winner’s name on Saturday morning.

Areruya, who is the reigning champion of the Tropicale Amissa Bongo, becomes the first Rwandan to scoop the award which was introduced eight years ago.

The 22-year-old, who plies his trade with French side Delko–Marseille Provence, beat South African Darly Impoey and Eritrean Ghebreigzabhier Amanue to replace reigning champion South African cyclist Louis Meintjes.

“Thanks to God, it’s a great achievement and I am really happy and proud for having won this crucial title,” Areruya said.

“I have had a successful year taking part in different races and securing a professional club. This is a great motivation for me and Team Rwanda as we will be heading to Gabon to defend the Tropicale Amissa Bongo title,” added Areruya.

Areruya will be turning out for the Team Rwanda in next year’s Tropicale Amissa Bongo Tour.

Meanwhile, Areruya was one of three Rwandese nominated for the award alongside Samuel Mugisha and Bonaventure Uwizeyimana.

 African Cyclist of the Year Award Winners

2012: Natnael Berhane (Eritrea)

2013: Louis Meintjes (South Africa)

2014: Mekseb Debesay (Eritrea)

2015: Daniel Teklehaimanot (Eritrea)

2016: Tesfom Okubamariam (Eritrea)

2017: Louis Meintjes (South Africa)

2018: Joseph Areruya (Rwanda)

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

More in Cycling

Translate »