Connect with us


Tour Du Rwanda 2020: Eritrean Tesfazion Claims Yellow Jersey

Natnael Tesfazion is the new leader of this year’s Tour du Rwanda following his win in stage four into Rubavu District.

Natnael Tesfazion is the new leader of this year’s Tour du Rwanda following his win in stage four into Rubavu District.

Tesfazion posted 5 hours, 34 minutes and 46 seconds beating Kent Main of Pro Touch in a sprint finish while Rwanda’s Moise Mugisha, who rides for Skol Adrien Cycling Academy (SACA), crossed the finish line eight seconds later.

Hailu, who rides for Team Nippo Delko Provence finished a distant 16th thus surrendering the yellow jersey to Tesfazion.

Little happened along the road from Rusizi, virtually flat until the final 24 kilometres when the riders hit the lumps of Rubavu.

As the summit came into view, Buru Temesgen of Team Ethiopia launched a move, at the same moment as Carlos Oyarzun of Bai Sicasal was being jettisoned out to the back.

Temesgen’s advantage was already 50 seconds by the time he reached the foot of the descent.

There were still challenges to come after 135km as Benediction Ignite’s Eric Manizabayo launched a solo attack opening a 40 seconds lead to the breakaway group scooping the sixth KOM points ahead of Oyarzun.

However, his lead was short-lived as he was caught by the breakaway group of 12 riders after 156km that had Oyarzun.

Rwanda’s Moise Mugisha together with Eritrean Natnael Tesfazion made an attack from the breakaway opening 1’45” lead on the breakaway and a 4’10” gap on the peloton.

In the final 10km, Kent Main caught the duo of Mugisha and Tesfazion. As the trio entered the final 100m, Tesfazion successfully sprinted and won the longest stage for this year’s edition.

Stage 5, which is much shorter than Stage 4, will start from Rubavu to Musanze on Thursday, covering 84.7km.

Stage 4: Rusizi-Rubavu (206.3 Km) awards list

  1. Stage Winner: Natnael Tesfazion (Eritrea National Team)
  2. Yellow Jersey: Natnael Tesfazion (Eritrea National Team)
  3. Best Climber: Oyarzun Carlos (Bai Sicasal)
  4. Best Sprinter: Yemane Dawit (Eritrea National Team)
  5. Best Young Rider: Natnael Tesfazion (Eritrea National Team)
  6. Best Combative Rider: Manizabayo Eric (Benediction Ignite, Rwanda)
  7. Best African Rider: Natnael Tesfazion (Eritrea National Team)
  8. Best Rwandan Rider: Mugisha Moise (SACA Team, Rwanda)
  9. Team of the day: Eritrea National Team

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

More in Cycling

Translate »