Connect with us


CAF Women’s Champions League: Cape Verde to Host WAFU A Zonal Qualifiers

Cape Verde will host the West African Football Union – Zone A (WAFU A) qualification tournament for the maiden CAF Women’s Champions League

Women Champion clubs from the nine member associations are expected to compete in the mini qualification tournament with winners of the tournament qualifying for the finals in Egypt.

Eight female clubs in the continent will compete in the finals of the maiden African Women’s Champions League which commences later in the year.

CAF had in June last year agreed to launch the Women’s Champions League as part of its strategic plan to grow the women’s game.

Egypt was confirmed to stage the inaugural edition of the women’s club competition in November, following CAF’s executive meeting in Kigali, Rwanda.

Determine Girls will represent Liberia after emerging as champions of the Orange Women’s Division League on April 17, 2021, following a 4-1 win over Blanco Football Club at the Tusa Field in Gardnersville. The win raised their tally to 41 points from 15 games, as they extended the gap to 11 points ahead of Blanco with a game left to play.

So far, only Liberia and Mali have ended their league season. AS Mande on June 10, won the Malian Women’s national league after a 1-0 win against Super Lioness in the grand final.

Other member associations include Cape Verde, Gambia, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Mauritania, Senegal, and Sierra Leone.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

More in WOMEN

Translate »