Connect with us


Arnold Origi Returns To Harambee Stars Squad For Zambia Friendly

Veteran goalkeeper Arnold Origi was one of the players who return to the national fold ahead of the next month’s friendly against Zambia.

Veteran goalkeeper Arnold Origi was one of the players who return to the national fold ahead of the next month’s friendly against Zambia.

The Finland-based custodian was named in the Harambee Stars squad for the friendly against Chipolopolo that is scheduled for October 10, 2020 at the Moi International Sports Centre Kasarani.

This is as the Kenya senior national men’s team resumes their preparations for the upcoming back-to-back 2021 Africa Cup of Nations qualifiers against Comoros.

Origi, who has been out of international football for five years, is back to the national set-up after Harambee Stars coach Francis Kimanzi forced him out of retirement.

He has been named among the goalkeepers alongside Zesco United’s Ian Otieno as well as uncapped Timothy Odhiambo from Ulinzi Stars.

Patrick Matasi, who was the first-choice custodian, has been dropped after he fumbled in his last match for the team where Kenya was held to a 1-1 draw by Egypt.

Among the defenders, there is another returnee in former Maritzburg centre-back Brian Mandela, who is currently searching for a club in South Africa.

Barnsley defender Clarke Oduor has earned his first call-up to the national team just months after saving his English Championship side from relegation.

Meanwhile, FKF has issued a statement saying that influential forward Michael Olunga, Captain Victor Wanyama, and midfielder Johanna Omollo may miss out on the final squad owing to the strict Covid-19 protocols imposed by the countries from which they ply their trade.

Full squad:


Arnold Origi (HIFK, Finland), Ian Otieno (Zesco United, Zambia), Timothy Odhiambo (Ulinzi Stars, Kenya)


Brian Mandela (Unattached), Joash Onyango (Simba, Tanzania), Joseph Okumu (Elfsborg, Sweden), Harun Shakava (Nkana, Zambia), Clarke Oduor (Barnsley, England), Hillary Wandera (Tusker, Kenya), Samuel Olwande (Kariobangi Sharks, Kenya), David Owino (Mathare United, Kenya), Johnstone Omurwa (Wazito, Kenya), Collins Shichenje (AFC Leopards, Kenya), Andrew Juma (Gor Mahia, Kenya), Philemon Otieno (Gor Mahia, Kenya), Badi Baraka (KCB, Kenya)


Kenneth Muguna (Gor Mahia, Kenya), Victor Wanyama (Impact Montreal, Canada), Francis Kahata (Simba, Tanzania), Eric Johanna (Jonkoping’s Sodra IF, Sweden), Cliff Nyakeya (Masr FC, Egypt), Antony Akumu (Kaiser Chief, South Africa), Johanna Omolo (Cercle Brugge K.S.V, Belgium), Ayub Timbe (Beijing Renhe, China), Brian Musa (Wazito, Kenya), Lawrence Juma (Gor Mahia, Kenya), Katana Mohamed (Isloch, Belarus), Austin Otieno (AFC Leopards, Kenya)


Michael Olunga (Kashiwa Reysol, Japan), Elvis Rupia (AFC Leopards, Kenya), Masud Juma (JS Kabylie, Algeria), Timothy Otieno (NAPSA Stars, Zambia), John Avire (Tanta FC, Egypt), Oscar Wamalwa (Ulinzi Stars, Kenya)

Reserve Team

Robert Mboya (Tusker, Kenya), Stephen Otieno (Sofapaka, Kenya), Michael Mutinda (KCB), Ibrahim Shambi (Ulinzi Stars, Kenya) Chrispinus Onyango (Tusker, Kenya), Benson Omala (Gor Mahia, Kenya)

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

More in Football

Translate »