Connect with us


AFCON 2021: Malawi Name Provisional Squad

Malawi national team head coach Meck Mwase has named a 34-man squad of locally-based players which will be considered for the 2021 Africa Cup of Nations (AFCON) finals.

Of the 34 listed players, six or seven will be incorporated alongside foreign-based professionals in the final squad for the AFCON finals set for scheduled for Cameroun in January next year.

Mzuzu Warriors defender Kelvin Kazinje and Karonga United striker Mphatso Kamanga as well as Bullets Reserve duo Innocent Msowoya and David Daud are among 12 players who have been give maiden call-up into the squad.

In a statemen, Malawi’s head of technical Mario Marinica said they have included youthful players in the squad to make sure that there is a proper transition of players from junior to senior teams.

“We want to have a proper transition of the players from the junior teams to the senior teams and this is why we have included some players from the U20 team so that they learn from the senior players as they train and at the same time familiarise themselves with the philosophy that we are introducing,” said Marinica.

The AFCON will start in Cameroon from January 9 to February 6,with 24 teams having qualified for the final tournament. Algeria are the defending champions, after beating Senegal in the 2019 final.

Malawi are in Group B alongside Senegal, Guinea and Zimbabwe and they will begin their AFCON campaign with a game against Guinea on January 10 at the Bafoussam Omnisport Stadium Kouekong.

Flames provisional squad:

Goalkeepers: Clever Mkungula (Nyasa Big Bullets Youth),William Thole, Richard Chipuwa (Be Forward Wanderers),Ernest Kakhobwe (Nyasa Big Bullets),Brighton Munthali (Silver Strikers),Innocent Nyasulu (Rumphi United)

Defenders Nickson Nyasulu,Gomezgani Chirwa(Nyasa Big Bullets),Stainley Sanudi,Peter Cholopi(Be Forward Wanderers), Paul Ndlobvu,Norchard Chimbalanga ( MAFCO),Mark Fodya (Silver Strikers), Lawrence Chaziya (CIVO),Kelvin Kadzinje (Mzuzu Warriors), Emmanuel Nyirenda (Mighty Tigers),Andrew Lameck (Bangwe All Stars)

Midfielders: Chikoti Chirwa (Red Lions), Chimwemwe Idana (Nyasa Big Bullets),Yamikani Chester (Be Forward Wanderers), David Daud,Innocent Msowoya (Nyasa Big Bullets Reserves), Misheck Seleman (Nyasa Big Bullets),John Banda (UD Songo),Schumacker Kuwali (UD Songo),Tawonga Chimodzi (Silver Strikers),Loyd Njaliwa (Moyale Barracks),Micium Mhone (Blue Eagles),Robert Saizi (Mpima Academy), Wisdom Mpinganjira ( Be Foward Wanderers)

Forwards:Mphatso Kamanga (Karonga United),Chikondi Mbeta ( Maggie Chombo Acadamy),Hassan Kajoke (Nyasa Big Bullets),Vincent Nyangulu (Be Forward Wanderers)

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

More in Football

Translate »