Connect with us


Zamalek Frustrated In Goalless Draw With Teungueth

Zamalek and Teungueth were forced to settle for a point after playing out to a 0-0 draw in their African Champions League, Group D match played at Stade Lat Dior in Senegal on Tuesday night.

The White Knights nearly had a swift start when a ball through the inside-right of the six-yard area released Ossama Faysal, but Mamadou Sow thwarted the forward’s effort.

The first chance for the home side arrived in the 20th minute, Djibril Sylla floated an inviting cross into the box for Waly Ndiaye, but the midfielder failed to keep his header on target.

Jamie Pacheco’s charges should have went ahead in the 33rd minute, Ahmed Sayed picked out Ahmed Fatouh from a set-piece but the defender headed over from six-yards out.

That was as good as it got, as far chances were concerned, as Teungueth were quite content to sit back and let Zamalek have the ball for most of the half.

While, it was a quiet opening 45 minutes for both goalkeepers, as neither had a save to make.

Teungueth hanged tact after halftime with a double substitution in Brahima Mane and a debut for Cheikh Beye.

It was Zamalek though who enjoyed the earlier forays in the second stanza, but Ferjani Sassi, and their top-scorer Ashraf Bencharki couldn’t profit.

Teungueth recovered soon thereafter and pushed forward from the right-side through a telling ball from captain ElHadji Balde, but goalkeeper Mahmoud Abdel-Rehim parried.

The balance of play however quickly shifted back to Zamalek, as Emam Ashour along with Sassi looked to carve an opening through the middle but to no avail.

As the match headed to a close, the struggle up front for either side continued with numerous balls into the area leading to naught therefore it finished goalless in Thies.

How they lined-up:
Teungueth FC: Baye Assane Cisse, Malickou, Mamadou Sow, Mountarou, Waly Ndiaye, Mamadou Seck (Brahima Mane 46), Babacar Sarr , Baye Djiby Diop (Cheikh Baye 58), Djibril Sylla (Assane Diatta 72), Pape Ousmane Sakho

Zamalek: Mahmoud Abdel-Rehim, Hamza Mathlouthi, Mahmoud Alaa, Mohamed Abdel-Ghani, Ahmed Fatouh (Abdallah Gomaa 64), Tarek Hamed, Ferjani Sassi, Youssef Ibrahim, Ahmed Sayed, Ashraf Bencharki (Emam Ashour 71), Ossama Faysal (Marwan Hamdi 71)

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

More in Football

Translate »