Connect with us


Uganda Under-17 AFCON Squad Announced

Uganda Cubs head coach Hamza Lutalo and his technical teams have named their final squad for the upcoming Total U-17 Africa Cup of Nations.

Lutalo has just made five changes from his CECAFA Zonal qualifiers squad as he named his final 25-man list on Saturday for the showpiece kicking off in Morocco next month.

One notable absentee is that of England-based forward Basil Tenywa Tuma, who has been omitted due to travel restrictions that could have required him to observe 14 days quarantine period upon arrival in Kampala.

Also missing out on progressing from CECAFA to the Africa stage are Mudiba Samir of Express Junior Team and his counterpart Kaliisa Shugai.

Meanwhile, Lutalo’s initial 43-man preliminary squad has also seen several casualties in Ssekamwa Salim Abdul (Synergy FC), Ocama Daniel Ogwal (Boro Boro Super Sport), Isiko Ismail (Sunset Academy-Mbale), Ssembusi Reagan (Kampala Junior Team), Mukiibi Sadi (Devine Soccer ministries Academy), Mwokye Ronald (Dynamic SS), Mayanja Abu (Synergy FC), Khayemba Usama (Nkoma SS, Mbale), Nyongesa Christopher (True Vine Soccer Academy) and Busolo Paul (SC Villa JT).

“This was not an easy process to go through given the fact that we had a very good list of talented players in our provisional squad,” a source at FUFA told Ducor Sports .

“We had constant engagements with our head coach during his selection process, and that enabled us to select what we regard as the best squad for the upcoming African footballing competition.”

Uganda was pooled in group A in the draws of the tourney held on Wednesday and they will face off with Morocco, Ivory Coast and Zambia.

The Uganda Cubs squad:


Magada Abdu (Busoga United FC JT), Mwebe Henry (Express FC JT), Oyirwoth Humphrey (Express FC JT), Kamya Shamulan (Bright Stars FC JT)


Mulema Vincent (Kyetume FC JT), Mungufeni Yabezi (Matete Comprehensive Seed), Ibrahim Juma (KCCA FC SA), Luyima Enock (Volf SA), Nsambu Lloyd Tendo (Metz FC U17, France), Gava Peter (Express FC JT), Madoi Ronald (Wakiso Giants FC JT), Mukisa Simon (KCCA FC SA)


Irinimbabazi Ivan (Bright Stars FC JT),Jemba Abudshakur Ramsey (Isra SA), Alafi Ceasor (Matete Comprehensive Seed), Mutyaba Travis (Vipers SC JT), Ssekajugo Elvis (Bright Stars FC JT), Mutebi Hakim (St Henrys College-Kitovu), Mwanje Elvis Eddy (KCCA FC SA)


Magogo Shafiq (KCCA FC SA), Mubiru Hassan (Express FC JT), Mawa Oscar (KCCA FC SA), Jumbe Fahad (Vipers SC JT), Bugembe Issa (Bright Stars FC JT), Mukiibi Marvin (Wakiso Giants FC).

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

More in Football

Translate »