Connect with us

2022 World Cup

Senegal Book Round Of 16 Spot With Win Over Ecuador

Senegal have advanced into the last 16 of the 2022 World Cup after claiming a 2-1 win over Ecuador at the Khalifa International Stadium on Tuesday afternoon.

The result confirms that Lions of Teranga and Netherlands will advance from Group A, while the La Tri and Qatar have both been eliminated.

It was a far-from-convincing victory for Senegal, but they dominated the encounter and were worthy winners on the day.

Senegal enjoyed a promising opening 20 minutes in which they held the South American attack at bay, and even produced a few half-chances of their own at the other end.

Ecuador should have broken the deadlock on the 32nd minute of the encounter when Carlos Gruezo’s free kick found Moisés Caicedo, who got up high unmarked, but he headed the ball over the crossbar from close range.

Senegal went ahead on just before the break when they were awarded a penalty after their star player Ismaila Sarr was brought down inside the area. The Watford winger then rose and dusted himself to convert the spot kick.

Ecuador then grew in confidence and they leveled the matters in the 69th when Moisés Caicedo headed in the ball at the far psot for his third international goal.

Senegal continued pushing for the second goal and it came on the 70th minute when Koulibaly fired home from a clearance after Ecuador defenders failed to deal with Gueye’s free-kick.

How they lined-up:

Ecuador: Hernan Ismael Galindez, Alan Franco (Jeremy Sarmiento 46), Felix Torres, Piero Hincapie, Angelo Preciado (Jackson Porozo 85), Carlos Gruezo (Jose Cifuentes 46), Moisés Caicedo, Pervis Estupinan, Gonzalo Plata, Michael Estrada (Djorkaeff Gonzalez 64), Enner Valencia

Senegal: Edouard Mendy, Ismail Jakobs, Abdou Diallo, Kalidou Koulibaly, Youssouf Sabaly, Pape Alassane Gueye, Idrissa Gueye, Pathe Ciss (Nampalys Mendy 74), Ismaila Sarr, Iliman Ndiaye (Bamba Dieng 75), Boulaye Dia




Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

More in 2022 World Cup

Translate »