Connect with us

2022 World Cup

Argentina Dethrone France To Win World Cup

Argentina won its third FIFA World Cup title when they beat France 4-2 on penalties in the final played at Lusail Stadium in Doha, Qatar.

After the sides played to 3-3 stalemate in 90 minutes of regulation time and a further half an hour of extra time, the Cup final was decided in the cruelest method of the game with Argentina coming out on top.

Coman and Tchouameni missed the second and third penalties to hand Argentina the advantage they held until the fourth attempt with a 3-1 lead.

Gonzalo Montiel stepped up to take the penalty and the Sevilla defender drove the ball home for Argentina to take the title.

France saw most of the ball in the opening stages of the game, but it was Sky Blues, who broke the deadlock 23 minutes into the encounter.

Argentina’s danger man Di Maria was inside outside the France box and South American giants were awarded a penalty.

Lionel Messi converted the penalty to equal the World Cup tally of Brazil great Pele with his 12th goal in five tournaments.

The Sky Blues stuck again nine minutes before the break following a sublime four-pass counter-attack as Alexis Mac Allister’s cutback found Angel Di Maria at the far post and he finished well.

Griezmann’s effort from the set-piece glanced Croatia striker Mario Mandzukic’s head and the ball flew into the back with the latter scoring an own-goal to make it 1-0 to France.

However, France found equalizing goals with nine minutes left courtesy of Mbappe’s well-taken spot kick and h a magnificent volley moments later.

Messi bundled Argentina back in front in extra time, but Mbappe completed his treble from the spot two minutes from the end of a frantic, chaotic added spell.

The game went to  a shootout where Argentina keeper Emiliano Martinez saved Kingsley Coman’s penalty and Aurelien Tchouameni fired wide to give Gonzalo Montiel to chance to win it, which he tactically  slotted in.



Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

More in 2022 World Cup

Translate »