Connect with us


Namibia Qualifies for Rugby World Cup

Namibia beat Kenya to qualify for the 2019 Rugby World Cup.

Namibia qualified for the 2019 Rugby World Cup in emphatic style on Saturday after thrashing rivals Kenya 53-28 in the final Rugby Africa Gold Cup decider at Hage Geingob Stadium in Windhoek.

The Welwitschias made it to next year’s tournament as Africa’s number one and join New Zealand, South Africa, Italy and Repechage tournament winner in pool B.

However, all is not lost for Kenya as they will now enter that last-gasp round-robin with Hong Kong, Germany, and Canada for the final spot at the World Cup.

Namibia attacked Kenya from the kick-off and got an early penalty from Cliven Loubster but it was Simbas who got the first try. William Ambaka’s long arm reached the line to score the try with Isaac Adimo making the conversion.

The lead did not last for long as the Namibians took charge of the match with a quick try and conversions coming from Chrysander Both.

Van der Westhuizen dotted down his second try of the game when Namibia pushed over the line from a maul and Loubser did not make a mistake with the extras booting home for a 22-7 lead at half time.

Namibians returned to the second half a more powerful side to add the rest of the points.

Their forwards dominated the set pieces as well as the rolling mauls where they pushed Kenya back for metres at a time, while the back line attacked with pace and intent.

In the end, the scores read two penalties, a penalty try and seven tries for Namibia while Kenya converted four tries.

The winners went into the match needing to beat Kenya to head to Japan with both teams having beaten Zimbabwe, Tunisia, Morocco and Uganda on their way to the season finale.

The teams:

Kenya :

1 Patrick Ouko, 2 Coleman Were, 3 Joseph Odero, 4 Andrew Chogo, 5 Oliver Mang’eni, 6 George Nyambua, 7 Elkeans Musonye, 8 Davis Chenge (capt.), 9 Samson Onsomu, 10 Isaac Adimo, 11 Jacob Ojee, 12 Darwin Mukidza, 13 Peter Kilonzo, 14 Willy Ambaka, 15 Tony Onyango

Replacements: 16 Peter Karia, 17 Moses Amusala, 18 Curtis Lilako, 19 Malcolm Onsando, 20 Martin Owilah, 21 Mohammed Omollo, 22 Felix Ayange, 23 Dalmus Chituyi

1 Casper Viviers, 2 Louis van der Westhuizen, 3 Aranos Coetzee, 4 Mahepisa Tjeriko, 5 Tjiuee Uanivi, 6 Wian Conradie, 7 Janco Venter, 8 PJ van Lill, 9 Eugene Jantjies, 10 Cliven Loubser, 11 JC Greyling, 12 Darryl de la Harpe, 13 Johan Deysel (capt.), 14 Johann Tromp, 15 Chrysander Botha

Replacements: 16 Orbert Nortje, 17 AJ de Klerk, 18 Nelius Theron, 19 Max Katjijeko, 20 Adriaan Booysen, 21 Damian Stevens, 22 PW Steenkamp, 23 Justin Newman

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

More in Rugby

Translate »