Connect with us

2019 Africa Cup of Nations Qualifiers

Migne confident Harambee Stars will get past Ghana

Kenya’s national team head coach says he will be going for a win when his team faces Ghana’s Black Stars in the 2019 AFCON qualifiers.

Kenya national team head coach Sebastien Migne has said he will be going for a win when his team comes against Ghana’s Black Stars in 2019 Africa Cup of Nations qualifying match on Saturday.

Harambee Stars, who have been dismal performers in the AFCON qualifiers, began their campaign for the qualification for the African football showcase on a bad footing, losing 2-1 away to Sierra Leone in July last year.

The 45-year-old Frenchman maintained that his boys have what it takes to outsmart the Kwesi Appiah-coached side in the do-or-die fixture which will have a huge bearing on whether their campaign goes north or south.

“We have started off well. I’m happy with the players’ fitness levels and morale.”

“We are working on getting ready for the match. Ghana will pose a tough challenge but I have trust in my players and I’m confident they will get a positive result,” said Migne.

Kenya will rely on Michael Olunga and Jesse Were for the goals and will be looking for experienced defender David Owino who plays for Zambian side Zesco United to seal the loopholes at the back.

“We are playing against one of the best teams in the continent and we know it is a tough game. But if we are mentally strong, we can win. We are playing at home and we have to make sure we win so that our chances of making it to the Cup of Nations remain high,” Owino said.

However, Migne will miss the services of China based midfielder Ayub Tibe Masika and Maritzburg’s Brian Mandela on suspensions.

Kenya’s Provisional Squad:


Ian Otieno (Red Arrows, Zambia), Patrick Matasi (Tusker), Boniface Oluoch (Gor Mahia), Brian Bwire (Kariobangi Sharks), Farouk Shikalo (Bandari)


Brian Mandela (Maritzburg, South Africa), David Owino (Zesco, Zambia), Joseph Okumu (AFC Ann Arbor, USA), Musa Mohammed (Nkana FC, Zambia), Erick Ouma (Vasalund, Sweden), David Ochieng (IF Brommapojkarna, Sweden), Abud Omar (Cercle Brugge, Belgium), Philemon Otieno (Gor Mahia), Jockins Atudo (Posta Rangers), Dennis Odhiambo (Sofapaka), Joash Onyango (Gor Mahia) Benard Ochieng (Vihiga United)


Victor Wanyama (Tottenham Hotspurs, England), Mc Donald Mariga (Real Oviedo, Spain), Clifton Miheso (Buildcon FC, Zambia), Paul Were (FC Kaisar, Kazakhstan), Ismael Gonzales (Las Palmas, Spain), Eric Johanna (IF Brommapojkarna, Sweden), Johanna Omollo (Cercle Brugge, Belgium), Anthony Akumu (Zesco, Zambia), Whyvonne Isuza (AFC Leopards), Francis Kahata (Gor Mahia), George Odhiambo (Gor Mahia), Duncan Otieno (AFC Leopards), Samuel Onyango (Gor Mahia)


Michael Olunga (Kashiwa Reysol, Japan), Ovella Ochieng (Vasalund, Sweden), Jesse Were (Zesco, Zambia), Masud Juma (Un-attached), Cliff Nyakeya (Mathare United), Abdallah Hassan (Bandari), Piston Mutamba (Sofapaka), Allan Wanga (Kakamega Homeboyz)

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

More in 2019 Africa Cup of Nations Qualifiers

Translate »