Connect with us


Kapaito Scoops Best Player Prize, Golden Boot at Kenya League Awards

Eric Kapaito scoops three main awards at the Kenya Premier League Awards.

Eric Kapaito, the Kariobangi Sharks dynamo, was the center of attention at the 2018 Kenyan Premier League (KPL) Awards when he claimed three main awards as the KPL honored this season’s top achievers at Kenya School of Government.

Kapaito walked away with the night’s most coveted prize, the KPL Player of the Year.

The Kenyan international also took home the New Player of the Year Award to add on to the Golden Boot having scored 16 goals this season.

He took total prize money of Ksh1,700,000 (Ksh 1,000,000 for Footballer of the Year, Ksh 500,000 for Golden Boot and Ksh 200,000 for New Player of the Year).

“I am very happy and I thank God for these awards, a big thank you to Kariobangi Sharks for the opportunity and my girlfriend for her support throughout the season,” said Kapaito.

Gor Mahia, who won the KPL title, could only manage to take the Fair Play Team and Coach of the year awards after their mentor Dylan Kerr tallied ahead of Ulinzi’s Dunstan Nyaudo and Sofapaka’s John Baraza.

Meanwhile, Mathare United winger Cliff Nyakeya picked up the midfielder of the year award, while Bandari’s Felly Mulumba and his teammate Faruk Shikhalo, were voted as KPL Defender and Goalkeeper of the year respectively.

In other awards, Michael Madoya of Zoo Kericho retained the Fair play award, while the Chairman’s award was handed to the Kenyan Premier League (KPL) Chief of Technical Services, Safety, and Security- GMT Ottieno.

The full list of winners

Most Improved Assistant Referees

  1. Gilbert Cheruiyot
  2. Maryanne Njoroge
  3. Oliver Odhiambo

Most Improved Centre referee of the year

  1. Omweno Davies
  2. Onyango Raymond
  3. Badir Yassin

Team Manager of the Year

  1. Vincent Okello (Mathare United)
  2. Christopher Ouma (Ulinzi Stars)
  3. Lazarus Yogo (Zoo Kericho)

Fair Player Club of the year

  1. Gor Mahia
  2. Sofapaka
  3. Kariobangi Sharks

Fair Play player of the year

  1. Madoya Michael (Zoo Kericho)
  2. Eric Kapaito (Kariobangi Sharks)
  3. Felly Mulumba (Bandari)

New player of the year

  1. Eric Kapaito (Kariobangi Sharks)
  2. Nabwire Marvin (AFC Leopards)
  3. Mutamba Pistone (Sofapaka)

Midfielder of the year

  1. Cliff Nyakeya (Mathare United)
  2. Elvis Nandwa (Ulinzi Stars)
  3. Madoya Michael (Zoo Kericho)

Defender of the year

  1. Felly Mulumba (Bandari)
  2. Titus Achesa (Posta Rangers)
  3. Oliver Ruto (Ulinzi Stars)

Golden Glove

  1. Farouk Shikhalo (Bandari)
  2. Patrick Matasi (Tusker)
  3. Kelvin Omondi (Sony Sugar)

Golden Boot

  1. Eric Kapaito (Kariobangi Sharks)
  2. Elvis Rupia (Nzoia Sugar)
  3. Jacques Tuyisenge (Gor Mahia)

Coach of the year

  1. Dylan Kerr (Gor Mahia)
  2. Dunstan Nyaudo (Ulinzi Stars)
  3. John Baraza (Sofapaka)

Chairman’s Award

Gilbert Mua Titus Ottieno

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

More in Football

Translate »