Connect with us


Candidates List for Ghana FA Elections Announced

The Normalization Committee overseeing the administration of football in Ghana has released a list of 46 cleared candidates for various positions in the Ghana Football Association’s (GFA) upcoming elections.

Former GFA vice-president George Afriyie will battle it out with Kurt Okraku, Fred Pappoe and Nana Yaw Amponsah for the presidency.

Also in the contention for the top seat in the October 25 polls are lawyers Amanda Clinton and George Ankamah Mensah.

However, Tema Youth Football Club bankroller Wilfred Osei Kwaku Palmer has been disqualified from contesting the GFA elections.

The likes of Anthony Aubynn, Nana Sarfo Oduro, Albert Commey Aryettey, Frederick Moore, Frederick Acheampong and George Amoakoh have been cleared to contest for Executive Council-Premier position.

Other positions up for grabs are executive council members – division one, executive council members – women and RFA chairpersons.

Regional FA Chairpersons will be elected on October 18, one clear week before the flagship election of the new GFA President.

Ghana football has been under the Normalisation Committee that was set up by FIFA in September 2018 following the dissolution of the Association due to an exposé by investigative journalist Anas Aremeyaw Anas.

The June 2018 exposé implicated the then GFA President, Kwesi Nyantakyi, who was also the 1st Vice President of the Confederation of African Football (CAF).

Winners of the election will oversee Ghanaian football from 2019 till 2023.



Amanda Clinton

George Ankoma Mensah

Nana Yaw Amponsah

Kurt Edwin Simeon Okraku

George Afriyie

Frederick Pappoe

Executive Council Members- Premier

Anthony Aubynn

Nana Sarfo Oduro

Mr Albert Commey Aryettey

Mr Frederick Moore

Frederick Acheampong

George Amoakoh

Executive Council Members – Division One

Abdul Karimu Ahmed

Otuo Acheampong Barima Boadu

Kweku Abaka Eyiah

Eric Oppong Yeboah

Ransford Abbey

Justice Boison

Samuel Anim Addo

Gideon Fosu

Mark Addo

Executive Council members – Women

Rosalind Amoh

Edna Quagraine

Evelyn Nsiah Asare

Habiba Atta Forson

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

More in Football

Translate »