Connect with us


CAF Confederation Cup Group Stage Line-Up Concluded

The line-up for the CAF Confederation Cup has been decided following the conclusion of the playoff round of the second leg matches on Sunday night.

The line-up for the CAF Confederation Cup has been decided following the conclusion of the playoff round of the second leg matches on Sunday night.

Zamalek, Salitas, RS Berkane, and Zesco had already secured their spots in the 16-team group stage following their second-leg clashes on Saturday, with the remaining 8 spots settled during Sunday’s frantic evening of action.

The biggest fail were Ugandan heavyweights Vipers SC. They had already been eliminated from the CAF Champions League in the first round, and were up against it after being pitted against Moroccan giants side CS Sfaxien and losing the first leg 3-0 at home.

A similar 3-0 victory for the North Africans at the Taeib Mihri Stadium on Sunday established CS Sfaxien among the favorites for the Confederation Cup.

Another heavyweight to miss out on the group stage are KCCA FC also from Uganda, who reached the round of 16 of the CAF Champions League last season.

They were ousted by Otoho d’Oyo despite defeating the Congolese side 2-0 in Kampala, but that was not enough to cancel a 3-0 defeat that they suffered a week ago away in Brazzaville.

Rwanda’s Mukura Victory defeated Sudan’s Al Hilal Omdruman 1-0 in Kigali, but it wasn’t enough to prevent a surprise 3-1 aggregate defeat.

Senegalese outfit ASC Jaaraf went down 5-1 away to Morocco’s RS Berkane. Jaraaf had 2-0 win at home, but the North Africans surprised them to progress on a 5-3 aggregate.

Cameroon representatives-New Stars of Douala- were not able to use their home advantage over Gor Mahia of Kenya, and were dumped out 2-1 on aggregate.

Gor Mahia forced them to a goalless draw at Stade de Omnisport on Sunday in a match that they missed a couple of open scoring chances.

Sunday’s eight winners join the other eight teams from Saturday for the group stages action which will be played on February 3rd and 15th March.

The draws for the groups will be conducted on Monday 21st January 2019 at CAF Headquarters in Cairo, Egypt

16 teams qualified for the group stages and will be distributed in four groups A, B, C and D. The matches will be played on a home-and-away round-robin basis.

Two teams from each group advance to the quarter-finals of the knockout stage.

The following is the complete list of teams that have made it and the nations they represent:

  1. Étoile du Sahel -Tunisia
  2. CS Sfaxien – Tunisia
  3. ZESCO United – Zambia
  4. Nkana – Zambia
  5. RS Berkane – Morocco
  6. Hassania Agadir – Morocco
  7. Raja Casablanca – Morocco
  8. Gor Mahia – Kenya
  9. Zamalek – Egypt
  10. NA Hussein Dey – Algeria
  11. Petro de Luanda – Angola
  12. Salitas – Burkina Faso
  13. AS Otôho – Republic of the Congo
  14. Asante Kotoko – Ghana
  15. Al-Hilal – Sudan
  16. Enugu Rangers -Nigeria

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

More in Football

Translate »