Connect with us

2019 Africa Cup of Nations Qualifiers

AFCON 2019 Qualifiers: Cerdric Bakambu Recalled For DR Congo – Zimbabwe Clash

Beijing Gouan striker Cedric Bakambu recalled in DR Congo’s game against Zimbabwe.

The presence of is something that head coach Florent Ibengé admitted that he missed after the Leopards fought to secure a 1-1 draw at the Samuel Kanyon Doe Sports Complex in Paynesville, Liberia.

Bakambu was left out of coach Ibenge’s squad for inexplicable reasons despite scoring a brace in the Leopards opening group match against Congo Brazzaville and his outstanding performance in the Chinese Super League.

However, the 27-year-old has been recalled to the DR Congo squad for their upcoming 2019 Africa Cup of Nations qualifiers against Group G toppers Zimbabwe.

The Leopards will host Zimbabwe on October 13, before traveling to Harare three days later for the return leg.

It will be a battle of ascendency when both teams clash. The group’s top spot is at stake after both teams collected four points from their first two games.

Although several players who missed the Liberia game returned, it was the return of Bakambu that made the headlines in coach Ibenge’s 35-man provisional squad named.

Rayo Vallecano’s winger Gael Kakuta, Standard Leige winger Paul-Jose Mpoku and Saudi-based goalkeeper Ley Matampi also returned after missing the trip to Liberia due to injury and club commitments respectively.

Coach Ibenge is expected to release his final squad list on Thursday, October 4.

On the other hand, winger Yannick Bolasie, who is back in action for Aston Villa, will not make the squad after he was dropped along with FC Porto defender Chancel Mbemba and Fulham midfielder Neeskens Kebano who are still injured.

DR Congo are in second-place in Group G, tied on four points with leaders Zimbabwe who are atop on a goal-difference.

Full Provissional Squad

Auguy Kalambayi Sanga Balende, Joel Kiassumbua – Servette FC (Switzerland), Nathan Mabruki Daring Club Motema Pambe, Anthony Mossi – Chiasso (Switzerland), Matampi Ley – Al Ansar (Saudi Arabia) Jordan Botaka – Sint Truiden (Belgium), Nelson Munganga Omba – AS Vita, Glody Ngonda Muzinga – AS Vita, Djuma Shahani – AS Vita, Fabrice Ngoma Lwamba – AS Vita, Jean-Marc Makusu Mundele – AS Vita, Yannick Bangala Litombo – AS Vita, Djos Issama Mpeko – TP Mazembe, Arsene Zola – TP Mazembe, Glody Likondja TP – Mazembe, Mika Miche – TP mazembe, Kevin Mondeko – TP Mazembe, Ben Malango – TP Mazembe, Elia Meschak – TP Mazembe, Paul-Jose Mpoku – Standard Liege (Belgium), Christian Luyindama – Standard Liege (Belgium), Firmin Mubele – Toulouse (France), Cedric Bakambu – Beijing Gouan (China), Britt Assombalanga – Middlesborough (England), Benik Afobe – Stoke city (England), Bobo Ungenda – Primeiro Agosto (Angola), Jonathan Bolingi – Royal Antwerp (Belgium), Junior Kabananga- Astana (Kazakhstan), Chadrac Akolo – Stuttgart (Germany), Wilfried Moke – Konyaspor (Turkey), Jacques Maghoma – Birmingham city (England), Chikito Lema Mabidi – Raja Casablanca (Morocco), Gael Kakuta- Rayo Vallecano (Spain), Jordan Ikoko – Guingamp (France), Arthur Masuaku – West Ham (England).

Image: Getty Images

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

More in 2019 Africa Cup of Nations Qualifiers

Translate »