Connect with us

2019 Africa Cup of Nations Qualifiers

Victor Moses, Mikel, Ighalo Dropped from Nigeria’s 2019 AFCON Qualifiers Squad

Gernot Rohr has named a 23-man squad ahead of the 2019 Africa Cup Nations Qualifier against South Africa but a few big names were not included in the squad while some other surprise names were listed.

Former Watford striker Odion Ighalo, John Obi Mikel and Chlelsea’s Victor Moses were dropped from the squad.

Maroof Youssef who plays for Egyptian side Zamalek was called up for the first time while Alhassan Ibrahim and Ikechikwu Enzewa are the only ones who were called up from the domestic league.


Goalkeepers: Daniel Akpeyi (Chippa United), Ikechukwu Ezenwa (FC Ifeanyi Ubah), Dele Alampasu (FC Ceserense)

Defenders: Elderson Echiejile (AS Monaco), Kenneth Omeruo (Alanyaspor), William Troost-Ekong (KAA Gent), Tyronne Ebuehi (ADO Den Haag), Shehu Abdullahi (Anorthosis Famagusta), Maroof Youssef (Zamalek), Chidozie Awaziem (FC Porto)

Midfielders:  Wilfried Ndidi (Leicester City), John Ogu (Hapoel Be’er Sheva), Ogenyi Onazi (Trabzonspor), Mike Agu (FC Porto), Oghenekaro Etebo (Feirense), Alhassan Ibrahim (Akwa United)

Forwards: Henry Onyekuru (KAS Eupen), victor osimhen (Wolfsburg), Kelechi Iheanacho (Manchester City), Ahmed Musa (Leicester City), Olanrewaju Kayode (Austria Wein), Alex Iwobi (Arsenal), Moses Simon (KAA Gent)




Featured photo: John Mikel Obi and Victor Moses celebrate with team mates after winning the 2013 AFCON trophy. (Getty Images)

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

More in 2019 Africa Cup of Nations Qualifiers

Translate »