Connect with us


Under-19 Cricket World Cup: Who the African Teams Were Drawn Against


The Under-19 Cricket World Cup kicks off this Saturday and four African teams made the cut. South Africa and Zimbabwe qualified automatically whereas Namibia was awarded a spot after finishing as the best of associate nations in the 2016 tournament.

The 16-team field includes Kenya, who qualified courtesy of winning regional Under-19 tournament.


Format of the tournament

The top two sides from each group will advance to the Super League quarter-finals, before semi-finals and then the finals. The bottom two teams in each group move on the Plate quarter-finals, before semi-finals and a final are also played out in that section. There will be a series of placement matches, too, to determine who finishes from first all the way down to 16th


Kenya, New Zealand, West Indies, South Africa


Australia, India, Papua New Guinea, Zimbabwe


Bangladesh, Canada, England, Namibia


Afghanistan, Ireland, Pakistan, Sri Lanka


Photo: ICC

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

More in Cricket

Translate »