Connect with us


U-17 CECAFA Qualifiers: Uganda Stun Tanzania to Set up Ethiopia final

Uganda beat Tanzania to qualify for the finals of the 2019 Under-17 Africa Cup of Nations-Cecafa-Zone.

Uganda Cubs have made it to the finals in the ongoing 2019 Under-17 Africa Cup of Nations-Cecafa-Zone qualifying tournament.

This was after edging out hosts Tanzania 3-1 in a semi-final match at the National Stadium, Dar es Salaam on Friday evening.

Idd Abdulwahid netted a brace while John Kokas Alou grabbed the other goal to complete the rout, sending the East Africa football giants to the final with Edison Mshirakandi scoring for the losing outfit, the Serengeti Boys.

Uganda began on a high note with Idd Abdulwahid netting after only five minutes, pouncing on an Ibrahim Juma’s corner to slot in the opener.

Nonetheless, the joy would only last for a couple of minutes for the Cubs, thanks to a response from Tanzania’s Edison Mshirakandi who leveled the score.

From the trenches, the Cubs continued from where they had left. Prolific player Thomas Kakaire would have brought home a second goal but his long-range shot flew slightly off target hitting the woodwork.

In the 60th minute, Tanzania’s defender Sulaiman Lupeto fouled Iddi Abdu Wahid and the resultant free-kick taken by Juma Ibrahim was superbly saved by Tanzania goalkeeper.

Uganda’s scorer Iddi Abdulwahid then turned provider in the 77th minute after he assisted John Kokas Alou to give them the lead; before Wahid scored his second through a deflected shot with a minute to end the game.

“After losing to Ethiopia in the opening game, we have been playing all our matches as finals. We deserved the win and our match in the final against Ethiopia will be revenge. We shall be ready for the final,” said Uganda U17 head coach Peter Onen shortly after the match against Tanzania.

Cubs will now face Ethiopia in the finals after the Young Walia Ibexes edged out Rwanda 4-2 on penalties to set a date for a tough final on Sunday.

Uganda Cubs XI vs Tanzania: Delton Oyo (GK), Kevin Ssekimbegga, Samson Kasozi, Gavin Kizito Mugweri (Captain), Ibrahim Ekellot, Davis Ssekajja, Thomas Kakaire, Iddi Abdul Wahid,  Najib Yiga, Ibrahim Juma, John Kokas Alou

Subs: Daniel Semwogerere (GK), Yasin Abdul Owane, Owen Mukisa, Polycarp Mwaka, Ivan Asaba and John Rogers.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

More in SOCCER

Translate »