Connect with us

FKF Premier League

Tusker FC Crowned 2020/2021 Kenya Premier League Champions

Tusker FC are the new champions of the FKF Premier League (FKF PL), which came to a close on Sunday after the new title holders beat Bidco United 2-1 at Utalii Grounds in Nairobi.

The win saw the Brewers win the title on 65 points, three adrift second placed KCB who walloped Nairobi City Stars 3-0 in another match played at Narok Stadium.

As a result, Tusker ended Gor Mahia four season’s dominance to clinch their 12th title and second for their coach Robert Matano.

The Ruaraka-based side needed just a single point to reclaim the title as they took on Bidco United, who have now finished 11th on their top-flight debut.

Rodgers Aloro scored the opener from the spot in the 23rd minute before Henry Meja doubled the Brewers’ advantage in the 33rd minute.

David Orem pulled one back for Bidco United but it was not enough to stop Tusker from marching to another domestic title.

Tusker had already bagged a ticket to represent Kenya in the CAF Champions League while Gor Mahia will participate in the Confederation Cup after they clinched the FKF Betway Cup.

Gor Mahia, who had won the league in the past three seasons, finished at the eighth position with 45points having lost their last league game 2-0 to Nzoia FC.

At the bottom of the log, Western Stima got relegated to the National Super League after losing 1-0 to Wazito FC on Wednesday.

Mathare United escaped the chop after finishing the league with 30 points while Vihiga United  will feature in the promotion play-off against the team that finishes third in National Super League.



Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

More in FKF Premier League

Translate »