Connect with us


The Invincibles! Yanga Finish Season Unbeaten

Yanga confirmed their unbeaten status in the Tanzania Mainland Premier League with a well deserved 1-0 over Mtibwa Sugar  in the final match of 2021/2022 season played Wednesday at Benjamin Mkapa Stadium.

Yanga’s lone goal was netted by Denis Nkane in the closing stages of the match to end the historic season unbeaten, the first time since 1972.

Decked in their signature yellow and green team costumes, hundreds of Yanga fans had been spotted Wednesday afternoon in the streets of  Dar es Saalam all heading to the Benjamin Mkapa Stadium.

Police had a hard time to disperse some of the fans who were forcing their way in to the stadium before the match begun. And despite the heightened security witnessed at the ground, the fans were not scared of making merry.

After finding their way in, the crowd in the stadium showed their unity and support for Yanga by singing the club songs.

It is through the support behind them, that the players inspired each other on and off the pitch, bringing the best out of the squad that has played 30 matches unbeaten.

29 matches without a loss and only eight draws is what Yanga brought into their game against Mtibwa as they looked to ensure that the season ends without a loss.

And they faced a Mtibwa side that wanted to dent that record and for the better part of the first half the Millers’ game plan worked.


The second half begun with pace but the goal of the match only came in the 81st minute when Nkane nodded in a cross completing a move that also involved Deus Kaseke.

And while Yanga fans were celebrating at the top, Biashara United and Mbeya Kwanza fans were shedding tears after their teams were relegated.

Yanga had already been crowned champions with three matches remaining into the end of the NBC sponsored league and they had a colorful trophy parade on Sunday.

Nasreddine Nabi’s charges ended four-year dominance by their Kariokoo archrivals Simba SC.

The last time the Citizens lifted the trophy was in the 2016/17 season before Simba’s dominance saw them become winners on four straight occasions.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

More in Football

Translate »