Connect with us


South Africa Name Squad For Mozambique And Angola Friendlies

South Africa national team head coach Hugo Broos has announced a 24-man squad to play against Mozambique and Angola in back-to-back international friendly matches.

Ronwen Williams will captain the team, which includes Pyramids striker Fargie Lakay and Roran Toviz defender Siyanda Zulu.

Kaizer Chiefs midfielder Njabulo Blom has earned a recall to the Bafana Bafana squad, while Orlando Pirates duo of Monnapule Saleng and Miguel Tim have been called up for a first time by the Bafana mentor.

Mamelodi Sundowns quartet of Rushine de Reuck, Thapelo Morena, Aubrey Modiba, and Grant Kekana have been included in the squad.

Notable omission from the squad is the SuperSport United shot-stopper Ricardo Gross and Minnessota United’s striker Bongokuhle Hlongwane.

Bafana will be up against Mozambique at Mbombela Stadium, in Mbombela on Thursday, 17 November and followed by the Angolans three days later at the same venue.

Full squad:

Goalkeepers: Ronwen Williams (Mamelodi Sundowns), Veli Mothwa (AmaZulu), Melusi Buthelezi (TS Galaxy)

Defenders: Nyiko Mobbie (Sekhukhune United), Thibang Phete (Al Bataeh), Siyanda Xulu (Toran Tovuz), Siyanda Msani (Richards Bay), Rushine de Reuck, Thapelo Morena, Aubrey Modiba, Grant Kekana (all Mamelodi Sundowns)

Midfielders: Miguel Timm, Monnapule Saleng (both Orlando Pirates), Njabulo Blom (Kaizer Chiefs), Teboho Mokoena (Mamelodi Sundowns), Luke Le Roux (Varbergs BoIs)

Forwards: Khanyisa Mayo (Cape Town City), Lyle Foster (Westerlo), Mihlali Mayambela (Aris Limassol), Fagrie Lakay (Pyramids), Themba Zwane (Mamelodi Sundowns), Zakhele Lepasa (Orlando Pirates), Kgoagelo Sekgota (Kaizer Chiefs)



Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

More in Football

Translate »