Connect with us


Rwanda to host mini-tournament as preparations for Cameroon’s CHAN

Rwanda will host a mini-tournament from January 7-11as part of their preparations towards the upcoming African Nations Championship (CHAN).

Rwanda will host a mini-tournament from January 7-11 as part of their preparations towards the upcoming African Nations Championship (CHAN).

Namibia and Congo have already confirmed their availability while Tanzania is yet to, although they have also been lined up as participants in the tournament.

The nations, including Tanzania, qualified for the 2020 CHAN competition set to be held in Cameroon from 16 January to 7 February 2021.

“In a bid to better prepare for the Total CHAN 2021 which will take place in Cameroon, Rwanda National Team ‘’Amavubi Stars’’ will face Namibia and Congo in a Pre-CHAN mini-tournament organized by FERWAFA and the Ministry of Sports,” The Federation of Rwanda Football wrote on their official portal.

“The PRE-CHAN Mini Tournament will take place in Kigali, Rwanda starting from January 7th to January 11, 2021 before all teams depart to Cameroon for Total African Nations Championship.”

Rwanda’s first match in Cameroon will be Uganda on January 18 at the Stade de la Réunification in Douala, before tackling Morocco on January 22 at the same venue and later face Togo in the final group game on January 26 at Stade de Limbé in Buea.

The East Africans will be taking part in their fourth overall CHAN tournament after featuring in 2011, 2016, and 2018 editions.

Rwanda CHAN Squad

Goal Keepers: Kimenyi Yves, Ndayishimiye Eric, Kwizera Olivier, Rwabugiri Ndayisenga Omar

Defenders : Manzi Thierry, Mutsinzi Ange, Rugwiro Hervé, Nsabimana Aimable, Fitina ombolenga, Imanishimwe Emmanuel, Rutanga Eric, Usengimana Faustin, Bayisenge Emery, Serumogo Ally Omar, Niyomugabo Claude

Midfielders : Niyonzima Olivier, Ngendahimana Eric, Twizeyimana Martin Fabrice, Nsabimana Eric, Manishimwe Djabel, Nshuti Dominique Savio, Kalisa Rashid, Ruboneka Jean Bosco

Forwards : Byiringiro Lague, Sugira Erneste, Usengimana Danny, Iradukunda Jean Bertrand, Iyabivuze Osée, Mico Justin, Tuyisenge Jacques, Hakizimana Muhadjiri, Twizerimana Onesme, Sibomana Patrick.



Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

More in Football

Translate »