Connect with us


Qualified Teams For 2021 Africa Cup of Nations Finals

The lineup for next year’s Africa Cup of Nations is almost complete after four teams joined the 19 teams that had booked their tickets before Tuesday, joining the hosts for the biennial football showcase.

While the likes of Senegal, Nigeria, Egypt and Mali (amongst others) were already guaranteed a place in Cameroon 2022 before the last match day even got underway, there was still plenty of interest to see just how the 24-team field would shape up.

Cape Verde became the 23rd team to secure their spot at next year’s tournament after beating Mozambique 1-0 in a Group F match played in Maputo.

Faisal Bangal scored in his own net on home soil sending the Blue Sharks to the continent’s premier tournament for the first time since 2015 and for only the third time in their history.

Elsewhere, an Aboubakar Kamara goal in first-half stoppage time earned Mauritania a 1-0 victory over the Central African Republic in Bangui and the second qualifying place in Group E behind Morocco.

Meanwhile Guinea-Bissau punched their third successive finals ticket following a 3-0 win over Congo in Bissau’s 24 September Stadium.

Ethiopia lost 3-1 to Ivory Coast in Abidjan but will play at an Afcon tournament for the first time since 2013 after Madagascar failed to beat Niger on home soil.

A Group L clash between Sierra Leone and Benin was cancelled after the visitors reportedly had six positive COVID-19 test.

The Confederation of African Football will now decide on what happens with the fixture, with Benin needing just a draw to qualify while a home victory would see Sierra Leone book their spot at the AFCON.

The qualifiers wrapped up with Africa football giants Nigeria ending their campaign with comfortable win against minnows Lesotho.

Victor Osimhen scored the opener before providing an assist to Etebo Oghenekaro for the second goal in a match played at Teslim Balogun Stadium.

Paul Onauchu, who scored the late winner away to Benin this past weekend, sealed the win with a 83rd minute volley past Lesotho keeper.

All that is left is to count down the days until the draw for the group stage of the 2021 AFCON, which will be held in Younde on a later date

The 24-team field for the 2021 Africa Cup of Nations:

Cameroon (Hosts),Senegal, Tunisia ,Algeria, Mali ,Burkina Faso, Guinea, Comoros, The Gambia, Gabon, Egypt, Ghana, Equatorial Guinea, Zimbabwe, Morocco, Ivory Coast, Nigeria, Sudan, Malawi, Ethiopia, Mauritania, Guinea Bissau, Sierra Leone*, Cape Verde.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

More in Football

Translate »