Connect with us


Morocco Hold Gabon To End Unbeaten In Group C

Morocco’s 2-2 draw with Gabon in Yaoundé on Tuesday night ensured the Atlas Lions ended unbeaten at the top of Group C.

The result, combined with Comoros’ victory over Ghana in a concurrent match, saw Gabon advancing into the knockout stages of the competition after claiming five points from their three matches.

Both goalkeepers were called upon in the opening 10 minutes, as Jean Amonome saved an effort from Youssef En-Nesyri, while Munir El Kajoui denied Andre Poko.

Morocco nearly bagged an opener in the 15th minute through Achraf Hakimi, who headed just wide of the left-hand post.

Gabon side broke the deadlock after the 22nd minutes thanks to Jim Allevinah’s second in the tournament, with Jean-Noël Amonome picking up the assist.

The Panthers grew in confidence after taking the lead and could have been further ahead but Lloyd Palun could only fire straight at Munir, although squaring the ball looked the better option.

Nayef Aguerd went close for the Atlas Lions  in the 43rd minute with a long range effort that sailed just wide of the mark.

Morocco came close to leveling matters five minutes after the halftime break when Amonome produced a fine finger-tip save to keep out Fayçal Fajr’s right footed shot.

The Atlas Lions found an equalizer on the 74th minute later courtesy of a penalty that was converted by Sofiane Boufal after Jean-Noël Amonome committed a foul in the area.

Gabon then went ahead seven minutes later after Nayef Aguerd placed the ball into his own net following the increased pressure from the Panthers.

Morocco leveled the matters six minutes from the end courtesy of Achraf Hakimi hit a stunning free kick to save the Atlas Lions from an upset defeat.

How they lined up:

Gabon: Jean Amonome, Junior Assoumou, Bruno Manga, Lloyd Palun (Yannis N’Gakoutou 89), Alex Moucketou-Moussounda (Louis Ameka Autchanga 64), Johann Obiang, Guelor Kanga, Andre Poko, Anthony Oyono, Jim Allevinah (Kevin Mayi 88), Aaron Boupendza

Morocco: Munir, Achraf Hakimi, Sofian Chakla (Romain Saiss 89), Naif Aguerd, Adam Masina, Ilias Chair (Selim Amallah 31), Azzedine Ounahi (Tarik Tissoudali 89), Sofyan Amrabat, Faycal Fajr (Aymen Barkok 57), Ayoub El Kaabi (Sofiane Boufal 57), Youssef En-Nesyri


Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

More in Football

Translate »