Connect with us


Mohamed Salah Crowned 2018 PFA Player of the Year

Mohamed Salah has been crowned 2018’s Professional Footballers Association Player of the Year after an explosive record breaking debut season at Liverpool.

The Egyptian international beat competition from Manchester City’s midfielders Kevin De Bryne, David Silva, United’s keeper David De Gea and Spur’s striker Harry Kane to win English Football’s ultimate individual accolade.

Few could have predicted that Salah would have such an impact after he swapped Roma for Anfield in a £34.7 million deal considering his poor form while at Chelsea.

It’s now certain it was money well spent as Salah’s performances continue not only to re-write record books but to also earn him recognition from his fellow football player and fans all over the world.

His impact has not gone unnoticed. In his debut season, he has become the first player in Premier League history to win three player of the month awards after claiming the November, February and March Prizes.

Speaking on stage, the 25-year-old thanked all the other players and said it was because of hard work and not giving up that he got a chance to get such recognition.

[perfectpullquote align=”full” cite=”” link=”” color=”” class=”” size=””]“I think from the first day when I left the premier League, it was always in my mind that I wanted success here. I didn’t get a chance at Chelsea so it was clear in my mind that I would come back. I think I left and came back a different person, player and a different man.”[/perfectpullquote]

“It’s a big honor. I’ve worked very hard and am happy to win it.”

“It’s an honor to be the Player of the year for the Premier League, especially as it is voted by the players.” Salah added.

When asked what it meant to become the first Egyptian to win the award, the modest forward said honored and he sure hopes not the last one to win it.

With 31 goals, he is Premier League’s all-time fourth joint highest scorer joining legends Alan Shearer (1995-96), Cristiano Ronaldo (2007-08) and Luis Suarez (2013-14) and is just the third player in Premier League history to have more than 40 goal involvements in a single season.

He has also been instrumental in the Champions League scoring in both legs of Liverpool 5-1 win over Manchester City and will be leading their attack as they face his former side AS Roma.

Manchester City’s De Bruyne who guided Manchester City to the title came in close second while Spur’s Harry Kane finished a distant third.

Manchester City’s Leroy Sane was crowned PFA Young Player of the year, while Chelsea’s Fran Kirby beat team-mates to win the Women’s player of the year Award.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

More in Football

Translate »