Connect with us


McKinstry Names Foreign Based Players For Match Against South Sudan

McKinstry names foreign-based players for the upcoming match against South Sudan.

Striker Uche Ikpeazu who plies his trade in the English Championship with Wycombe Wanderers has earned a recall to the Uganda national team as the first team coach Johnathan McKinstry named foreign-based players for the two 2021 Africa Cup of Nations qualifiers against South Sudan to be played between 9th and 17th November 2020.

The former Hearts marksman won his first call-up in March 2020 for an international friendly but was unable to join the national team after the suspension of football due to coronavirus outbreak.

The 25-year-old has been a regular at Wycombe since joining from Scottish side Hearts, an outfit that he left after scoring 10 goals in 55 games in all competitions.

The rest of the foreign-based players are the usual suspects, led by skipper Dennis Onyango who turns for South Africa top-tier side Mamelodi Sundowns.

Striker Edrissa Lubega and goalkeeper Magoola Jamal Salim who both missed the opening two qualifiers against Burkina Faso and Malawi form part of the team that also has Sweden based Ronald Mukiibi and Portugal based Alex Kakuba.

Among the missing faces include defenders Murushid Juuko and Hassan Wasswa Mawanda together with Egypt-based striker Abdu Lumala.

McKinstry is expected to name local-based players to the final squad following further assessment of their current preparedness by the national team technical staff.

The Cranes currently sit top of Group B in the Africa Cup of Nations qualifiers with four points from two games. Completing the group is Burkina Faso and Malawi.

The first and second-placed teams from all 12 groups will advance to the tournament finals, to be played in Cameroon in 2021.

Foreign-based players

Goalkeepers: Dennis Onyango (Mamelodi Sundowns, South Africa), Magoola Jamal Salim (Al Hilal Omdurman, Sudan)

Defenders: Ronald Mukiibi (Ostersunds FK, Sweden), Nico Wakiro Wadada (Azam FC, Tanzania), Timothy Denis Awany (Sport Club Ironi Ashdod, Israel), Joseph Ochaya (TP Mazembe, Democratic Republic of Congo), Alex Kakuba (CD Cova Piedade, Portugal), Elvis Bwomono (Southend United, England)

Midfielders: Michael Azira (Chicago Fire, USA), Khalid Aucho (Misr Lel Makasa, Egypt), Allan Kyambadde (El Gouna, Egypt), Allan Okello (Paradou, Algeria)

Forwards: Derrick Nsibambi (Smouha, Egypt), Emmanuel Arnold Okwi (Ittihad Alexandria, Egypt), Alexis Bbakka (UMEA, Sweden), Fahad Bayo (Ironi Ashdod, Israel), Farouk Miya (Konyaspor, Turkey), William Kizito Luwagga (Hapoel, Israel), Uche Ikpeazu (Wycombe Wanderers, England), Edirisa Lubega (Paide Linnameeskond, Estonia)

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

More in Football

Translate »