Connect with us


Mane, Salah, Haller In Contention For CAF Player Of The Year Award

Bayern Munich and Senegal star Sadio Mane is still in line to retain his African Player of the Year crown after making the Confederation of African Football’s (CAF) final ten-man shortlist.

The 30-year-old will go up against Liverpool and Egypt forward Mohamed Salah and Borussia Dortmund star Sebastien Haller for the prize.

CAF confirmed that the winners will be unveiled at a ceremony on Thursday 21 July in Rabat, Morocco.

Mane captained Senegal to Nations Cup success in Cameroon in 2021 with Salah helping Egypt reach the final.

Morocco’s Achraf Hakimi, Cameroon’s Vincent Aboubakar, Guinea’s Naby Keita are some of the other names on the star-stunned list.

Mane stands a great chance of retaining his title after a stunning 2021/2022 in which he helped his former side Liverpool reach the UEFA Champions League final.

Aliou Cisse, who helped Senegal win their maiden African title, stands a great chance of winning the Coach of the Year award.

The final phase of voting for the men’s Player of the Year, as well as the male Coach of the Year, will be selected by head coaches/technical directors and captains of senior national teams from CAF member associations.

List of players nominated for Caf’s 2022 African Player of the year award:

Riyad Mahrez (Algeria & Manchester City)

Karl Toko Ekambi (Cameroon & Olympique Lyonnais)

Vincent Aboubacar (Cameroon & Al Nassr)

Sebastien Haller (Cote d’Ivoire & Ajax)

Mohamed Salah (Egypt & Liverpool)

Naby Keita (Guinea & Liverpool)

Achraf Hakimi (Morocco & Paris Saint-Germain)

Edouard Mendy (Senegal & Chelsea)

Kalidou Koulibaly (Senegal & Napoli)

Sadio Mane (Senegal & Bayern Munich)

Interclub Player of the Year (Men)

Tiago Azulao (Petro Atletico)

Karim Konate (ASEC Mimosas)

Aliou Dieng (Al Ahly)

Ali Maaloul (Al Ahly)

Percy Tau (Al Ahly)

Mohamed Sherif (Al Ahly)

Mohamed El Shenawy (Al Ahly)

Achraf Dari (Wydad Athletic Club)

Yahya Jabrane (Wydad Athletic Club)

Zouheir El Moutaraji (Wydad Athletic Club)

Young Player of the Year (Men)

Dango Ouattara (Burkina Faso & Lorient)

Karim Konate (Cote d’Ivoire & ASEC/RB Salzburg)

Kamaldeen Sulemana (Ghana & Rennes)

Pape Matar Sarr (Senegal & Metz)

Hannibal Mejbri (Tunisia & Manchester United)

Coach of the Year (Men)

Carlos Queiroz (Egypt)

Pitso Mosimane (Al Ahly)

Tom Saintfiet (The Gambia)

Walid Regragui (Wydad Athletic Club)

Aliou Cisse (Senegal)

National Team of the Year

Burkina Faso





Club of the Year

Petro Atletico (Angola)

Al Ahly (Egypt)

RS Berkane (Morocco)

Wydad Athletic Club (Morocco)

Orlando Pirates (South Africa)





Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

More in Football

Translate »