Connect with us


Malawi Name Squad For World Cup Qualifiers Against Cameroon And Mozambique

Malawi national team head coach Meck Mwase has named a 25-man provisional list for the upcoming 2022 FIFA World Cup Group D qualifiers against Cameroon and Mozambique.

The Malawian team will take on Cameroon at Stade Omnisport Paul Biya on September 3 before hosting Mozambique at Orlando Stadium in Johannesburg four days later.

The lists includes 12- foreign based players led by Orlando Pirates striker Gabadinho Mhango and and Georgia-based midfielder Francisco Madinga.

UD Songo’s attacker Schumacher Kuwali is among the notable absentees despite producing an impressive performance in Mozambique top-flight league.

There is still no place for Nyasa Big Bullets defensive duo of Precious Sambani and Nickson Nyasulu, who were instrumental in guiding the Peoples Team to the recently concluded CECAFA Kagame Cup finals.

Mwase has kept faith with in goalkeepers Bright Munthali , William Thole and Ernest Kakhobwe and has included defender Gomezgani Chirwa to the back-line.

Limbikani Mzava continues to captain the side from the back with Stanley Sanudi, Peter Cholopi, Nickson Mwase, Dennis Chembezi  and Kieran Ngwenya complete the defensive line-up.

Local based players are expected to hit camp on Wednesday without the Nyasa Big Bullets players who will join camp on Thursday evening after their game against Red Lions.

Full squad:

Goalkeepers: Brighton Munthali (Silver Strikers), Richard Chipuwa (Be Forward Wanderers), Ernest Kakhobwe (Nyasa Big Bullets)

Defenders: Stanley Sanudi (Be Forward Wanderers), Peter Cholopi (Be Forward Wanderers), Nickson Mwase (Silver Strikers), Limbikani Mzava (AmaZulu), Dennis Chembezi    (Polokwane City), Charles Petro (Sheriff Tiraspol), Kieran Ngwenya (Aberdeen), Gomezgani Chirwa (Nyasa Big Bullets).

Midfielders: Chikoti Chirwa (Red Lions), Peter Banda (Simba SC), Chimwemwe Idana (Nyasa Big Bullets), Micium Mhone (Blue Eagles), John Banda (UD Songo) Yamikani Chester (Be Forward Wanderers), Gerald Phiri Jnr (Baroka FC), Tawonga Chimodzi (Omon Aradippou), Mike Mkwate (Polokwane FC), Francisco Madinga (FC Dila Gori)

Strikers: Vincent Nyangulu (Be Forward Wanderers) Richard Mbulu (Baroka FC), Gabadinho Mhango (Orlando Pirates), Khuda Muyaba (Polokwane FC)

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

More in Football

Translate »