Connect with us


Davies Names Welwitschias Rugby World Cup Squad

Namibia’s Rugby coach names squad for rugby world cup.

A Welwitschias blend led by Johan Deysel combining youth with gnarled experience was on Monday confirmed to launch Namibia’s sixth assault on the Rugby World Cup title.

Coach Phil Davies picked almost exactly the squad everyone would or indeed, should have picked.

The omission of Casper Viviers and Chrysander Botha and the unavailability of experienced flanker Renaldo Bothma left no doubt of who would be dominating first fifteen in the tournament.

Among the new names in the squad include 21-year-olds Andre Rademeyer, Chad Plato, Obert Nortje and Prince Gaoseb and Cliven Loubser.

“We viewed it for about four years. We based everything on tier one playing standards, which is knowing what strength you need in a player in a world cup,” said coach Davies.

“We had quite a clear process. It was very difficult to get to the final squad. I was at 38 [players] for a long time, and I had to get to 31. The players who are here, I believe are the best players we have in terms of the best combination,” he added.

Davies is confident his side will have gained the much-needed fitness ahead of their 2019 Rugby World Cup opener against Italy.

The two sides have faced off twice before Namibia made their debut on the world cup scene with Namibia winning both matches held in June of 1991.

Welwitschias will next face two-time former world champions South Africa on 28 September before a 6 October showdown with holders New Zealand.

Both Namibia and New Zealand were pooled together during the 2015 rugby world cup where New Zealand won 58-14 on their way to winning the entire competition

Namibia has never won against South Africa or New Zealand and the goal for these matches will be to maintain respectability in all honesty.

The final pool fixture against Canada on 13 October presents their best chance of scoring a first win at the tournament.

The Welwitschias’ 31-man Rugby World Cup squad

Forwards – Andre Rademeyer (Wanderers, 21), Nelius Theron (PUK Rugby Ins, RSA 22), Desiderius Sethie (Unam, 26), AJ de Klerk (Wanderers, 27), Johannes Coetzee (Cheetahs, RSA 31), Obert Nortje (Unam, 22), Louis van der Westhuizen (PUK Rugby Ins, 24), Torsten van Jaarsveld (Bayonne RC, Fra 32), Tjiuee Uanivi (London Scottish RFC, 28), Johan Retief (PUK Rugby Ins, 23), Thomasau Forbes (Western Suburbs, 31), Rohan Kitshoff (Wanderers, 33), Max Katjijeko (Luctoninas RC, Eng 24), Prince !Gaoseb (Unam, 21), Wian Conradie (University of Johannesburg, RSA 24), PJ van Lill (Bayonne RC, Fra 35), Adriaan Booysen (Wanderers, 23) and Janco Venter (Jersey RC, Eng 24).

Backs – Cliven Loubser (Blue Bulls Academy, RSA 22), Helarius Kisting (CSM Baie Mare, Rom 25), Damian Stevens (Sharks XV, SA 24), Eugene Jantjies (Western Suburbs, 32), Darryl de la Harpe (Western Suburbs, 32), Johan Deysel (Colomiers RC, Fra 27), Justin Newman (PUK Rugby Ins., RSA 24), JC Greyling (Wanderers, 28), Johann Tromp (Wanderers, 28), Chad Plato (Blue Bulls Academy, RSA 21), Lesley Klim (Osprey RC,Wal 26), Janry du Toit (Wanderers, 23) and PJ Walters (United, 26)

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

More in Rugby

Translate »