Connect with us


Cameroon Name Preliminary AFCON Squad

Cameroon national team head coach Antonio Conceicao has named a preliminary 40-man squad for the 2022 Africa Cup of Nations.

Key names Karl Toko Ekambi, Vincent Aboubakar, Eric-Maxim Choupo-Moting and Andre Onana have been included in Concecao’s shortlist, as has Christian Bassogog, the Africa Cup of Nation MVP when Cameroon won the tournament in 2017.

Despite being on top form Boavista winger Paul-Georges Ntep has failed to convince Conceicao of his credentials and will not feature at the African spectacle in Younde.

The Indomitable Lions will face Burkina Faso, Cape Verde and Ethiopia in Group A at the finals, where they will be chasing their sixth continental crown.

The marquee African football tournament is set to begin at the Olembe Stadium late in the afternoon of January 9 and conclude at the same venue on February 6 with the final.

Cameroon successfully hosted the African Nations Championship (CHAN), a competition for footballers playing in their homelands, early this year.

Cameroon squad:

Goalkeepers: Omossola Simon (AS Vita, DRC), Epassy Devis (Ofi Creta, Geeece), Efala Komguep Jean (Akwa United, Nigeria), Nilend Narcisse (Coton Sport, Cameroon), Andre Onana ( Ajax, Spain)

Defenders: Fai Collins ( Standard Liege, Blegium), Mbaizo Olivier (Philapdephia, USA), Boey Sacha ( Glatasaray, Turkey), Ngadeu Michael ( La Gantosie, Belgium) Canstelleto (FC Nantes, France), Moukoudi Harold (St.Entienne, France), Onguene Jerome ( RB Salzbourg, Australia), Billong Jean (Clermont, France), Dawa Joyskim ( Botosaini, Romanania), Kotto Samuel Junior (Apjes, Cameroon), Tchamba Duplexe (Sonderjyske, Belgium), Tolo Nouhou( Seattle, USA), Oyongo Amroise (Montpellier, France), Ebbosse Enzo (Angers, France)

Midfielders :Onana Jean (Bordeaux, France), Oum Samuel (Mechelen, France), Zambo Anguissa (Naples, Italy), Hongla Martin( Verona,Italy), Kunde Malong( Olympiacos, Greece), Lea Siliki (Middlesbrough, England), Neyou Yvan ( St. Entinee, France), Djoum Arnaud (Apollon, Cyprus),

Forwards: Tawamba Leandre ( Al Tawoon, Saudi Arabia), Aboubakar Vincent ( Al Nasr, Saudi Arabia), Bahoken Stephane (Angers, France), Choupa-Moting ( Bayern Munich, Germany), John Mary ( Avispa Fukuoka, Japan), Moumi Ngamaleu (Young Boys, Switzerland), Ganago Ignatius ( Lens, France) Bassogog Christian ( Shanghai Shenhua, China), Toko Ekambi (Olympique Lyon, France), Ebobisse Jeremy (St. Earthquakes , USA), Njie Clinton ( Dynamo Moscow, Russia), Soni Kevin ( Astre Tripolis, Greece), Ntep Paul (Boavista, Portugal)


Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

More in Football

Translate »