Connect with us

CAF Champions League

CAF Champions League Group Stages: Defending Champions Wydad to Face Sundowns as Al Ahly Takes on old Foes Esperance de Tunis

Defending champions Wydad Casablanca will take on South African heavy weights Mamelodi Sundowns while eight-time winners Al Ahly Cairo battle old foes Esperance de Tunis in this year’s CAF Champions League group stages.

Mamelodi Sundowns was given a rare chance to settle a score with Wydad in group C. The Moroccans beat Amasandawana in the quarter-finals enroute to lifting the title against Al Ahly in the final. After massive recruitment, they now have a chance to prove they are the better side.

For the debutants, this year will be a baptism of fire considering every past winner since 2005 made it past the group stages. New comers Township Rollers (Botswana) and KCCA (Uganda) will have to tussle it out with eight-time champions Al Ahly and former winners Esperance de Tunis, respectively for a top spot in group A.

The other new comers Mbabane Swallows (Swaziland) and Horoya (Guinea) will also have a chance to test their resolve against 2016 champions Mamelodi Sundowns and defending Wydad Casablanca in group C, respectively.

In group D the final debutant Mbabane Swallows (Swaziland) will be facing Tunisia giants Etoile du Sahel and Zesco United of Zambia.

The group Stages will kick off on the first weekend of May between 6th and 8th.

Group A.
Al Ahly (Egypt)
Esperance de Tunis (Tunisia)
Township Rollers (Botswana)
KCCA (Uganda)

Group B.
TP Mazambe (DRC)
Entente Setif (Algeria)
Difaa El Jadidi (Morocco)
Mouloudia Alger (Algeria)

Group C.
Mamelodi Sundowns (South Africa)
Wydad Casablanca (Morocco)
Horoya (Guinea)
AS Port of Togo (Togo)

Group D.
Zesco United (Zambia)
Primeiro de Agosto (Angola)
Mbabane Swallows (Swaziland)
Etoile du Sahel. (Tunisia)

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

More in CAF Champions League

Translate »