Connect with us


CAF Awards: Mane In Running For A Second Crown

The Confederation of African Football (CAF) has named the final three for its 2022 Player of the Year award.

Senegal’s Sadio Mane, the last man to be crowned Africa’s best player back in 2019, is up against Mohamed Salah of Egypt and compatriot Edouard Mendy.

The winner is chosen by head coaches of the FA’s affiliated to CAF and ‎will be announced at a gala on 21 July.

CAF named an original list of 30 players in June before cutting it down to ten a week ago.

The women’s shortlist has also been revealed with Nigeria’s Asisat Oshoala, Cameroon forward Ajara Nchout Njoya and Zambia midfielder Grace Chanda making the final three.

CAF has also released the final three names for the Interclub Player of the Year; Achraf Dari of Wydad Athletic Club, Aliou Dieng of Al Ahly and his compatriot Mohamed El Shenawy.

CAF Awards 2022 nominees:

Player of the Year (women): Grace Chanda (Zambia & BIIK Kazygurt), Ajara Nchout Njoya (Cameroon & Inter Milan) and Asisat Oshoala (Nigeria & Barcelona).

Player of the Year (men): Sadio Mane (Senegal & Bayern Munich), Edouard Mendy (Senegal & Chelsea), Mohamed Salah (Egypt & Liverpool).

Interclub Player of the Year (women): Evelyn Badu (Ghana & Sekondi Hasaacas Ladies/Alvaldsnes), Andile Dlamini (South Africa & Mamelodi Sundowns), Bambanani Mbanie (South Africa & Mamelodi Sundowns).

Interclub Player of the Year (men): Achraf Dari (Morocco & Wydad Athletic Club), Aliou Dieng (Mali & Al Ahly), Mohamed El Shenawy (Egypt & Al Ahly).

Coach of the Year (women): Desiree Ellis (South Africa), Bruce Mwape (Zambia), Reynald Pedros (Morocco), Jerry Tshabalala (Mamelodi Sundowns).

Coach of the Year (men): Aliou Cisse (Senegal), Carlos Queiroz (Egypt), Walid Regragui (Wydad Athletic Club).

Club of the Year (women): AS FAR (Morocco), Hasaacas Ladies (Ghana), Mamelodi Sundowns (South Africa).

Club of the Year (men): Al Ahly (Egypt), RS Berkane (Morocco), Wydad Athletic Club (Morocco).

National Team of the Year (men): Cameroon, Egypt, Senegal.

Goal of the Year: Zouhair El Moutaraji (Morocco & Wydad Athletic Club), Gabadinho Mhango (Malawi & Orlando Pirates), Pape Ousmane Sakho (Senegal & Simba).


Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

More in Football

Translate »