Connect with us


Broos Names South Africa Squad For 2022 World Cup Qualifiers

South Africa coach Hugo Broos has announced a squad of 23 players to face Zimbabwe and Ghana in upcoming 2022 FIFA World Cup Group G qualifiers.

The list includes five overseas- based players in Siyanda Xulu (Hapoel Tel Aviv, Israel), Thibang Phete (Belenenses FC, Portugal), Gift Links (Aarhus GF, Denmark) Percy Tau (Brighton & Hove Albion, England), Luther Singh (F.C Copenhagen, Denmark).

South Africa Premier Soccer League defending champions Mamelodi Sundowns have most players in the squad in Mothobi Mvala, Rushne De Reuck, Thapelo Morena, Sydney Mobbie and Thabiso Kutumela.

Coach Broos has maintained faith in three goalkeepers of Supersport’s  Ronwen Williams, Veli Mothwa (Amazulu) and Bruce Bvuma (Kaizer Chiefs).

Experienced defenders Mosa Lebusa, Innocent Maela and Njabulo Ncgobo were notable absentees from the squad despite their past good performances in their respite clubs.

“Maybe there are other players also disappointed but this is my first choice so I made the choice maybe after Ghana I will say maybe I should not have selected this one,” explained Broos, Bafana Bafana coach.

“First thing is quality, I can leave all those players out because of not playing but will I have enough players to replace them with enough quality for Bafana Bafana.”

South Africa will hit camp on Monday as they gear up for the two crucial matches that will be played in the month of September.

The Bafana play Zimbabwe on 3 September at the National Sports Stadium in Harare and Ghana at FNB Stadium on 6 September 2021.

Full Squad:

Goalkeepers: Ronwen Williams (Supersport United), Veli Mothwa (AmaZulu), Bruce Bvuma (Kaizer Chiefs).

Defenders: Sydney Mobbie (Mamelodi Sundowns), Rushine De Reuck (Mamelodi Sundowns), Thapelo Morena (Mamelodi Sundowns), Siyanda Xulu (Hapoel Tel Aviv, Israel),Thibang Phete (Belenenses FC, Portugal), Thabani Dube (Kaizer Chiefs), Sibusiso Mabiliso (Kaizer Chiefs)

Midfielders: Sipho Mbule (Supersport United), Teboho Mokoena (Supersport United), Mothobi Mvala (Mamelodi Sundowns), Yusuf Maart (Sekhukhune FC), Ethan Brooks (TS Galaxy), Njabulo Blom (Kaizer Chiefs)

Strikers: Thabiso Kutumela (Mamelodi Sundowns), Bongokuhle Hlongwane (Maritzburg United), Gift Links (Aarhus GF, Denmark), Evidence Makgopa (Baroka FC), Victor Letsoalo (Bloemfontein Celtics), Percy Tau (Brighton & Hove Albion, England), Luther Singh (F.C Copenhagen, Denmark).



Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

More in Football

Translate »