Connect with us


Aubameyang, Kante and Omagbemi Shortlisted for FIFA’s Annual Prestigious Awards

Gabon international and Borussia Dortmund striker Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang is one of 24 players shortlisted in the category of Best FIFA Men’s Player award after the 27-year-old was top scorer with 31 goals in 32 Bundesliga appearances last season.

He became the fourth player in league history to score over 30 goals in a single season and is joined by Chelsea midfielder of Mali descent, N’Golo Kante.

The shortlisted candidates for the top performers of the 2016/17 season, were picked by two panels of experts from across the six confederations.

Men’s Player Award Shortlist

* Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang (GAB – Borussia Dortmund)

* Leonardo Bonucci (ITA – Juventus/AC Milan)

* Gianluigi Buffon (ITA – Juventus)

* Dani Carvajal (ESP – Real Madrid)

* Cristiano Ronaldo (POR – Real Madrid)

* Paulo Dybala (ARG – Juventus)

* Antoine Griezmann (FRA – Atlético Madrid)

* Eden Hazard (BEL – Chelsea)

* Zlatan Ibrahimovic (SWE – Manchester United)

* Andres Iniesta (ESP – FC Barcelona)

* Harry Kane (ENG – Tottenham Hotspur)

* N’Golo Kante (FRA – Chelsea)

* Toni Kroos (GER – Real Madrid)

* Robert Lewandowski (POL – FC Bayern Munich)

* Marcelo (BRA – Real Madrid)

* Lionel Messi (ARG – FC Barcelona)

* Luka Modric (CRO – Real Madrid)

* Keylor Navas (CRC – Real Madrid)

* Manuel Neuer (GER – FC Bayern Munich)

* Neymar (BRA – FC Barcelona/Paris Saint-Germain)

* Sergio Ramos (ESP – Real Madrid)

* Alexis Sanchez (CHI – Arsenal)

* Luis Suarez (URU – FC Barcelona)

* Arturo Vidal (CHI – FC Bayern Munich)



Getty Images

Former Nigerian international and current head coach, Florence Omagbemi joins in the women’s category as the only African in contention for FIFA’s Best Women’s Coach annual award after leading Nigeria to an eighth continental title in Cameroon last year.

The shortlist for the Best FIFA Women’s Coach 2017 award was made by a panel of women’s football experts.


FIFA Best Women’s Coach Nominees

* Olivier Echouafni (FRA – French national team)

* Emma Hayes (ENG – Chelsea Ladies)

* Ralf Kellermann (GER – VfL Wolfsburg)

* Xavi Llorens (ESP – FC Barcelona Femeni)

* Nils Nielsen (DEN – Danish national team)

* Florence Omagbemi (NGA – Nigerian national team)

* Gerard Precheur (FRA – Olympique Lyonnais Feminin)

* Dominik Thalhammer (AUT – Austrian national team)

* Sarina Wiegman (NED – Netherlands national team)

* Hwang Yong-Bong (PRK – Korea DPR / Korea DPR U-20 national teams)


The winners will be chosen by national team coaches, captains, selected media and a fan vote and will be announced at a ceremony in London on October 23.


Featured Photo: Getty Images

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

More in FIFA

Translate »