Connect with us


Algeria’s Riyad Mahrez Should be the Unanimous Choice for 2016 African Footballer of the Year

It’s fair to say that the 2015 winner of the African footballer of the year award came as a surprise to many football fans around the continent. This is in no way meant to spurn the achievement of Pierre Emerick Aubameyang or give credence to the narrative that he was undeserving of the award– he was, however, an unknown striker to many football enthusiasts on the continent who won the award on the basis of goals scored for his club Borussia Dortmund in the Bundesligal.

The nominees for the 2015 African Footballer of the year award were:

  • Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang
  • Yaya Touré
  • André Ayew



Andre Ayew, Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang and Yaya Toure. Getty Images

Going into the award ceremony, many expected Toure to grab his fifth successive award after leading the Ivory Coast to their long awaited African cup of nations title and a strong season at Manchester City. So, the outcome was a bit shocking to many, but Toure’s dispirited reaction after losing the award drew criticism from fans who saw him as entitled and ill-mannered.

Fast forward to 2016, the unanimous choice for the African Footballer of the year award is Leicester City and Algeria international midfielder Riyad Mahrez.  Mahrez was an integral part of one of sport’s greatest triumph in modern history–Leicester City’s Premier League title.

Mahrez was also the winner of the Professional Footballers’ Association player of the year award.


Featured Photo: Courtesy of Mahrez’s twiiter page

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

More in Football

Translate »