Connect with us


AFCON 2019: Okello dropped, Onyango Arrives as Desabre Trims Uganda Cranes Squad

Allan Okello and Mujuzi Mustapha have been dropped from Uganda Cranes team currently preparing for 2019 Africa Cup of Nations.

Allan Okello and Mujuzi Mustapha have been dropped from Uganda Cranes team currently preparing for 2019 Africa Cup of Nations.

The national team head coach, Desabre, trimmed his local squad and included foreign-based names leaving six players who have been training since Monday 13th May 2019 in Kampala.

Others who were dropped include in-form striker Daniel Isiagi, Balinya Juma and Henry Patrick Kaddu, who were all earlier this year involved with the Cranes.

The French tactician has summoned four goalkeepers including number one choice Dennis Onyango (Mamelodi Sundowns), Robert Odongkara (Adama City), Salim Jamal (Al Hilal) as well as locally based Charles Lukwago of KCCA FC.

Household names like Godfrey Walusimbi, Hassan Wasswa and Joseph Ochaya are obvious inclusions while the shining light of Farouk Miya and fellow attackers Nsimbabi Derrick and Kizito Luwagawill yet again be expected to be on display.

Cranes will camp in in the UAE for three weeks where they will play two friendlies before flying to Egypt on 17 June, with their objective to qualify for the knock-out stage.

Uganda is in Group A along with the AFCON 2017 quarter-finalist DR Congo, seven-time record champions Egypt as well as Zimbabwe.

The Cranes open their campaign against DR Congo on June 22 at Cairo International Stadium before facing the Warriors of Zimbabwe four days later at the same venue.

Uganda will conclude their group matches with a tricky match against the Pharaohs on June 30.

This year’s edition has been expanded from 16 to 24 teams and with the top two teams of each group, along with the best four third-placed teams advancing to the round of 16.

Full squad for Dubai training:

Goalkeepers: Denis Onyango (Mamelodi Sundowns-South Africa), Jamal Salim (Al Hilal-Sudan), Robert Odongkara (Adama City FC-Ethiopia), Charles Lukwago (KCCA FC-Uganda).

Defenders: Bevis Mugabi (Yeovil Town- England), Nicholas Wadada (Azam FC-Tanzania), Awanyi Timothy (KCCA FC-Uganda), Hassan Wasswa Mawanda (Unattached), Ronald Mukiibi (Ostersunds-Sweden), Murushid Juuko (Simba-Tanzania),  Godfrey Walsumbi (Unattached), Muleme Isaac ( FK Viktoria Zizkov- Czech Republic), Joseph Ochaya (TP Mazembe-DR Congo

Midfielders: Tadeo Lwanga (Vipers SC-Uganda), Khalid Aucho (Church Hill Brothers Fc-India), Kirizestom Ntambi- Coffee FC –Ethiopia), Michael Azira (Montreal-USA), Waisswa Moses (Vipers SC-Uganda), Sadam Juma (KCCA FC-Uganda), Faruku Miya (HNK Gorica FC- Croatia), Kizito Luwagga (Shakhter Karagandy-Kazakhstan), Kateregga Allan ( Maritzburg-South Africa), Emmanuel Okwi (Simba SC – Tanzania)

Strikers: Patrick Kaddu (KCCA FC-Uganda), Allan Kyambadde (KCCA FC-Uganda), Alexis Bakka (Carlstad United- Sweden), Nsibambi Derrick (Smouha- Egypt)

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

More in Football

Translate »